Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

British History 

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dartmouth.edu/british_history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Archives             Print Page
  
 

Archives and Special Collections

Foster, Janet.
British archives : a guide to archive resources in the United Kingdom /editors, Janet Foster and Julia Sheppard ; consultant editor, Richard Storey
Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York : Palgave, 2002. Edition 4th
Baker Berry Reference CD/1040/F67/2002

Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Guide to the contents of the Public Record Office.
London, H. M. Stationery Off., 1963-68.
Baker/Berry Reference CD/1043/A553

Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Public Record Office current guide [microform].
London: The Office,
Baker/Berry Reference CD/1043/A554 Library has 1996 �

 

The National Archives

"Records of the UK government from Domesday to the present"

On April 2, 2003, the Public Record Office (PRO) and the Historical Manuscripts Commission (HMC) joined together to form a new organization: The National Archives.
The National Archives was launched in April 2003, and brings together two existing organizations, the Public Record Office and the Historical Manuscripts Commission. Over the next 12 months, the National Archives will combine the services and expertise of both the PRO and the HMC. It will be a national resource for anyone interested in, or with responsibility for, documents relating to British history.

A2A - Access to Archives

A2A allows you to search and browse for information about archives in England and Wales, dating from the eighth century to the present. These archives are maintained in local record offices and libraries, universities, museums and national and specialist institutions across England, where they are made available to the public.
A2A allows you to search across catalogues from over 414 record offices and repositories in England beyond the Public Record Office, and to arrange to see or to obtain copies of specific, useful, real archive documents.

ARCHON

The ARCHON Directory includes contact details for record repositories in the United Kingdom. It's a valuable update and supplement to Foster's British Archives, above. It also includes a list of institutions elsewhere in the world which have substantial collections of manuscripts noted under the indexes to the National Register of Archives. The latter contains 276 U.S. repositories.

Repositories of Primary Sources

Links to over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.

National inventory of documentary sources in the United Kingdom.
Collation: microfiches ; 10 x 15 cm. Teaneck, N.J. : Chadwick Healey, 1984-
Notes: Library has CD-Rom index: Index to NIDS.
Jones Media Center, Microfiche 1577F Library has unit 1-8 (1984-1986) only.

A Directory of rare book and special collections in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. 2nd ed. / edited by B.C. Bloomfield with the assistance of Karen Potts. London : Library Association Pub., 1997.
Baker/Berry Reference Z/1029/D57/1997

Index to the Correspondence of the Foreign 0ffice, 1920-1951 Book

Baker Berry CD1051 .A13 1920-1951 (Catalog Record)

A detailed subject index to FO correspondence for these years. It also includes indexes to the 'green' or secret papers among the general correspondence of the foreign office published in separate volumes. the first, covering the years 1921-38, issued as v.77 of this set.


 

The following series are published by the Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts.

Papers of British Cabinet Ministers, 1782-1900.
London : H.M.S.O., 1982. Guides to sources for British history based on the National Registers of Archives ; 1.
Baker/Berry r Stacks Z/2018/P36/1982

The manuscript papers of British scientists, 1600-1940.
London : H.M.S.O., 1982. Guides to sources for British history based on the National Register of Archives ; 2.
Baker/Berry Stacks Q/149/G7/M3/1982

Guide to the location of collections described in the Reports and Calendars series, 1870-1980. London : H.M.S.O., 1982. Guides to sources for British history ; 3. Baker/Berry Stacks Z/2019/G84/1982

Private papers of British diplomats, 1782-1900.
London : H.M.S.O., 1985. Guides to sources for British history ; 4.
Baker/Berry Stacks Z/6465/G7/P74/1985

Private papers of British Colonial governors 1782-1900.
London : H.M.S.O., c1986. Guides to sources for British history ; 5.
Baker/Berry Stacks JV/1061/G74/1986

Papers of British churchmen 1780-1940.
London : H.M.S.O., 1987. Guides to sources for British history ; 6.
Baker/Berry Stacks BR/755/P3411/1987

Papers of British politicians, 1782-1900.
London : H.M.S.O., 1989. Guides to sources for British history ; 7.
Baker/Berry Stacks Z/2019/P36/1989

Records of British business and industry, 1760-1914 : textiles and leather.
London : H.M.S.O, 1990. Guides to sources for British history ; 8.
Baker/Berry Stacks HC/255/R42/1990/HC255/R42/1990

Records of British business and industry, 1760-1914: Metal processing and engineering. London : HMSO, 1994. Guides to sources for British history ; 9.
Baker/Berry Stacks TS/225.2/G3/R43/1994

Principal family and estate collections.
London : H.M.S.O., 1996- Guides to sources for British history ; 10.
Baker/Berry Stacks CD/1069.5/A1/P746/1996 Library has v.1

Riddick, John F. A guide to Indian manuscripts: materials from Europe and North America.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993. Reference guides to archival and manuscript sources in world history, no. 2.
Baker/Berry Stacks Z/3208/A39/R54/1993
[Note: "Indian" refers to India not Native Americans]


Additional Guides

Great Britain. Public Record Office.
The records of the Foreign Office, 1782-1968 / [revised by] Michael Roper.
Edition     2nd ed.
Imprint     Richmond, Surry : Public Record Office, 2002.
Description     xii, 324 p., [16] p. of plates : ill. ; 25 cm.
Baker Berry Ref.      CD1051 2002

 

Reference Bibliographer

Profile ImageFrancis Oscadal
Contact Info:
180 Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755

History Department Office Hours
3rd Floor, Carson Hall
Mon. 10:00-11:00 am
Wed. 2:00-3:00 pm
* And by appointment *
Tel. 603 646-0789
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Medieval & Renaissance Studies

 

Library Web Manager | Privacy Policy

Dartmouth College Library • Hanover, NH, USA 03755 • Phone: (603) 646-2560 • Email

Top of page | Copyright © 2008 Trustees of Dartmouth College

Description

  Loading content... please wait