British Library
Library Catalogs
|
|
This database contain information about more than 50 million books, periodicals, recordings, scores, archival collections, and other kinds of material held in major research institutions, public, and national libraries both domestic and foreign.
An important source for getting beyond the Dartmouth Library's holdings. Users can submit a DartDoc (ILL) request from within WorldCat material records.
*** Electronic Databases and Journals at the British Library ***
Title List A - available in the Library's Reading Rooms
The British Library Catalogues
The Integrated Catalogue. This is the BL's main catalogue and contains records for over 13 million books, serials, printed music and maps.
The Manuscript Catalogues is based on the traditional cataloguing of the Department of Manuscripts and aims to cover all western manuscript accessions from 1753 to date. Work, however, is still in progress and there are some significant gaps. See the catalogue itself for more information.
The Newspaper subset of the Integrated Catalogue includes entries for over 50,000 newspaper and periodical titles from all over the world, dating from the 17th to the 21st century, held by the British Library Newspaper Library at Colindale in north west London. Catalogue entries contain full details of the title (including any title changes), the place of publication (the town or city and the country), and the dates which are held, and the catalogue may be searched by entering a keyword or a combination of keywords.
** Connecting: At the BL Integrated Catalogue click on "Search the Integrated Catalogue;" then click on "Catalogue subset search." Scroll down to "Newspapers."
Current Serials File allows you to search the DSC's Current Serials Received file. This file contains the titles of over 60,000 serials currently received by the British Library Document Supply Centre (BLDSC) and Science Technology & Business (STB).
University College London (UCL)
* The Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue in: C19, the nineteenth century index
The Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC) defines the printed record of the English-speaking world from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the end of the First World War. The project aims to index all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English.
* The Nineteenth Century in: C19, the nineteenth century index
The Nineteenth Century is a thirty-year publishing programme
based at the British Library which reproduces on microfiche a
significant proportion of English-language works first published
between 1801 and 1900.
**
Dartmouth DOES NOT subscribe to the microfiche collection, however, the
database does allow users to identify relevant publications from the
19th Century.
* Libweb library servers via WWW.
Currently lists over 7400 pages from libraries in over 125 countries.
* UK Higher Education and Research Libraries.
Curently
lists over 140 libraries and information services within the UK. NOTE:
the online catalogs of UK libraries may be incomplete as libraries work to catalog old collections.
* British Museum. Dept. of Printed Books.
General catalogue of printed books. Photolithographic edition to 1955.
London, Trustee of the British Museum. 1959-66 [v.1, 1965]
Baker/Berry Reference Z/921/B88
Library has v.1-263
* British Library. Dept. of Printed Books.
General catalogue of printed books. Photolithographic edition to 1955; Supplement.
London, Trustees of the British Museum.
Baker/Berry Reference Z/921/B88/Suppl
Library has 1968-1971/75
Borrow Direct allows faculty, students and staff at Dartmouth College to directly request books from the combined library catalogs of Brown University, Columbia University, Cornell University, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton University, and Yale University.


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait