Subject Bibliographies
In Published Works
The notes and list of sources (primary and secondary) cited by scholars in their books and journal articles are a good place to begin building a working bibliography on a topic.
For example, in this monograph the author provides a 60 page bibliography of sources:
Wood, Gordon S. The Radicalism of the American Revolution, New York : A.A. Knopf, 1992, Edition 1st ed, Descript x, 447 p. Includes bibliographical references (p. [371]-430) and index. Baker Berry E209 .W65 1992
In the Library Catalog
To learn if the library contains a bibliography on a particular topic search by KEYWORD(s) and s:bibliography.
For example, a search for "imperialism and s:bibliography" returns several titles including -
Bibliography of imperial, colonial, and Commonwealth history since 1600/edited by Andrew Porter ; research assistant Austin Gee. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2002. Descript xx, 1060 p. Baker Berry Z2021.C7 B53 2002
Bibliographies
Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History
This database is an index of British and Irish history from 900 to the present. It includes the publications contained in annual publications such as Writings on British History, the Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History, as well as book length bibliographies such as the highly regarded Oxford Bibliographies of British Histories published from the 1950's - 1970's.
Irish History Online is an authoritative guide (in progress) to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present. It has been established in association with the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History (of which it is now the Irish component) and London's Past Online. It presently contains approximately 45,000 items, drawn from Writings on Irish History for 1980 to 2001, plus all the Irish material currently held on the online Royal Historical Society Bibliography. (The latter is less comprehensive but covers a longer period of publications, up to the most recent). Included are articles from journals, including local history journals, and collective volumes. Searches can be made by author, by subject, by publication details, or by period covered.
International Medieval Bibliography-online ![]()
Indexes articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Citations classified by date, subject and location.
Print edition:
Baker/Berry Reference Z/6203/I65
Library has 1968-2002
Annual bibliography of British and Irish history.
Brighton, Sussex : Harvester Press ; Atlantic Highlands, N.J. :
Humanities Press for the Royal Historical Society.
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2001/A61
1975-2002
Included in the online Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, above.
Researchers may wish to consult the print edition for the subject indexes and the topical arrangement of material.
Catterall, Peter, 1961-
British history, 1945-1987 : an annotated bibliography.
Oxford, UK ; Cambridge Mass., USA : B. Blackwell, 1991,
Baker/Berry Stacks Z/2020.3/C37/1991
Chaloner, W. H. (William Henry)
Bibliography of British economic and social history.
Manchester: Manchester University Press, c1984.
Baker/Berry Stacks Z/7165/G8/C46/1984
Hanham, H. J.
Bibliography of British history, 1851-1914.
Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1976.
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2019/H35
Brown, Lucy M.
Bibliography of British history, 1789-1851.
Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1977.
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2019/B768
Pargellis, Stanley McCrory, 1898-
Bibliography of British history; the eighteenth century, 1714-1789.
Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1951.
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2019/P3
Davies, Godfrey, 1892-1957, ed.
2nd ed. [edited by] Mary Frear Keeler
Bibliography of British history, Stuart period, 1603-1714. 2nd ed.
Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1970.
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2018/D25/1970
Baker/Berry Stacks Z/2018/D25/1970/cop.2
Read, Conyers, 1881-1951, ed.
Bibliography of British history, Tudor period, 1485-1603. 2d ed.
Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1959.
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2018/R28/1959
Baker/Berry Stacks Z/2018/R28/1959/Cop.2
Graves, Edgar B. ed.
A Bibliography of English history to 1485 : based on The sources
and literature of English history from the earliest times to about 1485
by Charles Gross / edited by Edgar B. Graves ; and issued under the
sponsorship of the Royal Historical Society, the American Historical
Association, and the Mediaeval Academy of America Imprint Oxford [Eng.]
; New York : Clarendon Press, 1975
Baker/Berry Reference Z 2017 .B5
Rosenthal, Joel Thomas, 1934-
Late medieval England (1377-1485) : a bibliography of historical scholarship, 1975-1989.
Kalamazoo, Mich., USA : Medieval Institute Publications, Western
Michigan University, 1994. Baker/Berry Reference Z/2017/G87/1994 �
Stationery Office (Great Britain)
The Stationery Office annual catalogue.
London : The Office, c1997-
Baker/Berry Reference Z 2009. G821
A catalog of publications issued by the HMSO. Previous editions catalog HMSO publications back to the 19th Century. All located together in Baker/Berry Reference.
Catalogue of British official publications not published by HMSO.
Cambridge, England : Chadwyck-Healey ; Teaneck, N.J. : Distributed by Somerset House, 1981-
Baker/Berry Reference Z 2009. C37
As noted by the title this publication catalogs official publications since 1981 not published and distributed by the HMSO.
British museum. Dept. of Printed Books.
Thomason Collection.
Catalogue of the pamphlets, books, newspapers, and manuscripts
relating to the relating to the Civil War, the Commonwealth, and
Restoration collected by George Thomason, 1640-1661.
London : Printed by order of the Trustees, 1908.
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2002/W523 �
The English Short Title Catalogue describes works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing through the end of the eighteenth century, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period. Updated daily, ESTC contains more than 419,000 records.�
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Pollard, Alfred W. (Alfred William), 1859-1944.
A short-title catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English books printed abroad, 1475-1640
/ first compiled by A. W. Pollard & G. R. Redgrave. 2d ed. rev.
& enl. / begun by W. A. Jackson & F. S. Ferguson, completed by
Katharine F. Pantzer. London : Bibliographical Society, 1976-
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2002/P77/1976
Library has v.1-2
Wing, Donald Goddard, 1904-
Short-title catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland,
Ireland, Wales, and British America, and of English books printed in
other countries, 1641-1700. Compiled by Donald Wing. 2d ed., rev.
and enl. New York, Index Committee of the Modern Language Association
of America, 1972-1988.
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2002/W52
Baker Spec. Coll., Ref. Z/2002/W52/cop.2
British museum. Dept. of Printed Books.
Thomason Collection.
Catalogue of the pamphlets, books, newspapers, and manuscripts
relating to the Civil War, the Commonwealth, and Restoration collected
by George Thomason, 1640-1661 London : Printed by order of the
Trustees, 1908.
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2002/W523 �
Reference Bibliographer |
Francis Oscadal180 Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
History Department Office Hours
3rd Floor, Carson Hall
Mon. 10:00-11:00 am
Wed. 2:00-3:00 pm
* And by appointment *
Tel. 603 646-0789
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Medieval & Renaissance Studies

Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait