Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

British History 

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dartmouth.edu/british_history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Introduction

The study of History can take you in any number of directions. For that reason a wide variety of article indexes and databases may be relevant.

The box on the left contains a short list of the best places to begin. Depending on the scope and complexity of a topic these sources may provide all the article citations you need.

The long list of titles in the box below offers a more comprehensive treatment of the historical literature and related disciplines.
Browse this annotated list for ideas of additional places to look for article citations and full text articles online.

 

Article Indexes/Abstracts/Full Text

Search360  
imageFind articles in several History databases

 

Not finding enough? Use the expanded History Search360 category in this guide's Articles tab or visit the Search360 site for additional options.


 

Individual Article Databases

* Historical Abstracts Licensed for Dartmouth only. 

An index and abstracting service for articles, book reviews, and dissertations published from 1954 to date.
** A major index for scholarly journal literature pertaining to world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada).

* Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History

This database is an index of British and Irish history from 900 to the present. It includes the publications contained in annual publications such as Writings on British History, the Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History, as well as book length bibliographies such as the highly regarded Oxford Bibliographies of British Histories published from the 1950's - 1970's.

The following print editions of bibliographies are now contained in the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History.

Royal Historical Society (Great Britain)
Writings on British history.
London J.cape.
Later Title: Writings on British History 1946/48-
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2016/R88
Library has 1901-1945

Writings on British history.
London, University of London, Institute for Historical Research [etc.]
Later Title: Annual bibliography of British and Irish history. Publications of ...
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2016/R88
Library has 1946/48-1973/74

Annual bibliography of British and Irish history.
Publications of ... / Royal Historical Society.
Brighton, Sussex : Harvester Press ; Atlantic Highlands, N.J. : Humanities Press for the Royal Historical Society,
Earlier Title: Writings on British history.
Baker/Berry Reference Z/2001/A61
1975-2002

 

* Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900

* Wellesley Index in: C19, the nineteenth century index 

Wellesley is an index to the authorship of articles, and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym. 45 important monthly and quarterly titles are included, covering the period from the beginning of the Westminster Review in 1824 to the end of the century. The exception to this is the Edinburgh Review, which is indexed from first issue, in 1802. Wellesley does not index poetry.

* British Periodicals, Series I and II in: C19, the nineteenth century index 

"British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. A wide array of different types of periodical are represented, from magisterial quarterlies and scholarly and professional organs through to coterie art periodicals, penny weeklies and illustrated family magazines."

* Periodicals index online 

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) is an index to millions of articles published between 1665-1995 in over 4,600 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from around the world.
PIO also links to full text articles in a companion database entitled Periodicals Archive Online (PAO).

* Irish History Online

Irish History Online is an authoritative guide (in progress) to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present. It has been established in association with the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History (of which it is now the Irish component) and London's Past Online. It presently contains approximately 45,000 items, drawn from Writings on Irish History for 1980 to 2001, plus all the Irish material currently held on the online Royal Historical Society Bibliography.

* International Medieval Bibliography-online 

Indexes articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Citations classified by date, subject and location.

Print edition:
Baker/Berry Reference Z/6203/I65
Library has 1968-2002

* America, History and Life 

Indexes and abstracts articles, book reviews, and dissertations published from 1954 to date.
** This is THE major index for scholarly journal literature pertaining to U.S. and Canadian history. Included here because these areas of North America have been closely connected to British history since the time of exploration.

* JSTOR 

A fully-searchable database containing the full-text of scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields. Coverage is generally from the beginning of publication to within 3-5 years of the current issues.

* Project Muse  

Project MUSE offers nearly 200 full-text journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic periodicals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

* Academic Search Premier  

Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including more than 2,700 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 4,500 journals in the collection.

* BHI : British Humanities Index  

Indexes articles in scholarly and popular journals from 1962 to date.

* The Subject Index to Periodicals.
London, Library Association.
Earlier Titles: Subject index to periodicals, 1952-1961, Athenaeum subject index to periodicals, 1915-1951.
Later Title: British humanities index.
Library has 1915/16-1950/51
Baker/Berry Reference AI/3/A72
Library has 1952-1968

The precursor to the British Humanities Index above.

* Humanities Abstracts
1983 to date

* Social Sciences Abstracts
1983 to date

* Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
1907-1982

Taken together these three titles offer bibliographic access to important scholarly journals in subjects across the two disciplines. The Retrospective portion is an important source for academic journal articles in History published prior to 1955 (when "Historical Abstracts" appeared).

*Readers' Guide Abstracts
1983 to date

* Readers' Guide Retrospective
1890-1982

An important source for articles in general and popular magazines published in the U.S. and Britain.

* Poole's Index to Periodical Literature in:  C19, the nineteenth century index 

Poole's Index, covering the period 1802-1906, was originally published in 6 volumes, each comprising of an alphabetical listing of the subjects addressed by articles in British and American periodicals.

 

* Poole's Index to Periodical Literature.
Boston, Houghton, Mifflin.
Baker/Berry Reference AI/3/P7
Library has v.1-2 (1802-1907)
The print version of Poole's contained above in 19th Century Masterfile.

* PAIS International 
1972 to date.

PAIS Archive 
1915-1976

PAIS is a bibliographic index with abstracts covering political, social, and public policy issues. Topics covered include economic, political, and social issues, business, finance, law, international trade, international relations, public administration, government and political science. The database covers selected journal articles, books, chapters in books, statistical sources, and government documents. Useful for its breadth of coverage and that it covers most of the 20th century to date.

* Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts covers political science articles published since 1975. The database contains abstracts of materials from professional journals, major news magazines and books devoted to the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, public law, public administration and public policy.

* International Political Science Abstracts 

Print edition v.1-38 (1951-1988)
Baker/Berry Reference JA/36/I5

International Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts of political science articles published in scholarly journals and yearbooks worldwide. Topics include method and theory; political thinkers and ideas; political and administrative institutions; political process (public opinion, attitudes, parties, forces, groups, elections); international relations; and national and area studies. Approximately 95% of the records include abstracts, with most written in English and the remainder in French (for articles in languages other than English). Article titles in other languages are always translated into English. IPSA makes a special effort to include articles about the countries for which information is scarce.

* Times digital archive 

Full text of the Times (London) from 1785-1985.

* The Times, London.
The Index to the Times.
Later Title: Times index.
Jones Media Center AI/21/T46
Library has 1785-1789, Print edition Jones Media Center, Microfilm 302R
Library has O.1790-D.1869
Jones Media Center AI/21/T46
Library has 1869-1973, Print edition

 
 

Journals and Magazines

 

Library Web Manager | Privacy Policy

Dartmouth College Library • Hanover, NH, USA 03755 • Phone: (603) 646-2560 • Email

Top of page | Copyright © 2008 Trustees of Dartmouth College

Description

  Loading content... please wait