Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

British History 

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dartmouth.edu/british_history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Calendars of State Papers             Print Page
  
 

Introduction

Calendars are chronological lists of documents or manuscripts. They are sometimes annotated and may excerpt large sections of material, or even include entire texts of some items. Some of them can be used as indexes to the microfilmed collections of state papers (see "State Papers" tab of this guide). The transcribed text can assist in deciphering the handwritten papers in the film.  When the Library does not have film of the complete manuscripts the calendars are often full enough to serve as good substitutes. Usually each volume contains an index.

 

Calendars

Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) Licensed for Dartmouth only. Full Text

This database contains the full text of various British and Scottish Calendars (of Papers, Letters, Patent Rolls), Accounts, Acts, Histories, and Registers. It's an ongoing project; many titles are partially complete online and others have yet to appear.
Full text searching of keywords and phrases is supported and enhances access to the material.

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers and manuscripts relating, to English affairs, existing in the archives and collections of Venice, and in other libraries of northern Italy.
London, Longman Green, 1864-1947.
Baker/Berry Stacks DA25 .J43
Library has v.1-38 (1202-1675)

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of inquisitions post mortem and other analogous documents preserved in the Public Record Office. Prepared under the superintendence of the deputy keeper of the records.
London, Printed for H. M. Stationery Off. by Makie and to be purchased from Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1904-
Contents v.1. Henry III.--v.2-4. Edward I.--v.5-6. Edward II.--v.7-14. Edward III.--v.15-16. Richard II.
Baker Berry  DA25 .C1 1904  v.1-16

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of the state papers relating to Ireland, of the reigns of Henry VIII, Edward VI, Mary and Elizabeth : preserved in the State Paper Department of Her Majesty's Public Record Office.
Nendeln, Liechtenstein : Kraus Reprint, 1974.
Baker/Berry Stacks DA/25/G7/C34/1974

* Calendar of state papers, Ireland, Tudor Period 1571-1575 / edited by Mary O'Dowd. Kew : Public Record Office, Irish Manuscript Commission, 2000. Edition Rev. ed.
Baker Berry DA 937 .C354 2000

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers, domestic series, of the reigns of Edward VI, Mary, Elizabeth, James I, 1547-[1625] : preserved in the State Paper Department of Her Majesty's Public Record Office / edited by Robert Lemon.
Nendeln, Liechtenstein : Kraus Reprint Ltd., 1967. 12 v.
Baker Berry DA 25 .F35 1547-1625
Contents v. 1. 1547-1580: Edward VI., Mary, Elizabeth, 1856.--v. 2. 1581-1590: Elizabeth. 1865.--v. 3. 1591-1594: Elizabeth. 1867.--v. 4. 1595-1597: Elizabeth. 1869.--v. 5. 1598-1601: Elizabeth. 1869.--v. 6. 1601-1606: Elizabeth with addenda, 1547-1565. 1870.--v. 7. 1566-1579: Elizabeth, addenda, 1566-1579. 1871.--v. 8. 1603-1610: James I. 1857.--v. 9. 1611-1618: James I. 1858.--v. 10. 1619-1623: James I. 1858.--v. 11. 1623-1625: James I., with addenda. 1859.--v. 12. 1580-1625: Elizabeth and James I., addenda. 1872.--Indexes: v. 1-12. 1 v.

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers, foreign series, of the reign of Edward VI., 1547-1553, preserved in the state papers department of Her Majesty's Public Record Office. Edited by William B. Turnbull
London, Longman, Green, Longman, & Roberts, 1861
Baker Berry DA 25 .B12

* Calendar of state papers : domestic series of the reign of Mary 1, 1553-1558, preserved in the Public Record Office. London : Public Record Office, c1998. Edition Rev. ed / edited by C. S. Knighton.
Baker Berry DA 25 .E3 1998

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers, foreign series, of the reign of Mary, 1553-1558, preserved in the state paper department of Her Majesty's public record office.
Ed. by William B. Turnbull.
London, Longman, Green, Longman & Roberts, 1861.
Baker/Berry Stacks DA/25/B14

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of State Papers, Foreign Series, of the Reign of Elizabeth, 1558-1603. 23 vols. in 26 Baker/Berry Stacks. DA-25-.B16.
This set covers to 1589 and is continued by:

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
List and analysis of state papers, foreign series: Elizabeth I. Preserved in the Public Record Office.
London, H.M. Stationery Off., 1964-
Baker/Berry Stacks DA/25/B1/1964
Latest issue received: 6(1993)
Library has v.1-16 (Jan. to Dec. 1595)

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of the state papers, relating to Scotland, preserved in the State Paper Department of Her Majesty's Public Reecord Office. [Edited] by Markham John Thorpe
London, Longman, Brown, Green, Longmans, 1858 2 v.
Storage I45PSS
Contents v. 1. The Scottish series, of the reigns of Henry VIII. Edward VI. Mary. Elizabeth. 1509-1589.--v. 2. The Scottish series of the reign of Queen Elizabeth, 1589-1603; an appendix to the Scottish series, 1543-1592; and the state papers relating to Mary Queen of Scots during her detention in England, 1568-1587

* Great Britain. General Register Office (Scotland)
Calendar of the state papers relating to Scotland and Mary, Queen of Scots, 1547-1603 : preserved in the Public Record Office, the British Museum, and elsewhere in England Edinburgh : H. M. General Register House, 1898-
Storage I45PSSM v.1-11

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of letters, despatches, and state papers, relating to the negotiations between England and Spain, preserved in the archives at Simancas and elsewhere
London, Longman, Green, Longman & Roberts [etc.] 1862-1954 13 v. in 19.
Baker Berry DA 25 .I9 v.1-13
Contents v. 1. Henry VII. 1485-1509.- v. 2-8. Henry VIII. 1509-[1546] 12 v.- v. 9-10. Edward VI. 1547-[1552]- v. 11. Edward VI. and Mary. 1553.- v. 12. Mary. January-July 1554.- v. 13. Philip and Mary. July 1554-November 1558

* Scotland. General Registry Office of Births, Deaths and Marriages.
Calendar of the state papers relating to Scotland and Mary, Queen of Scots,1547-1603 : preserved in the Public Record Office, the British Museum, and elsewhere in England. Edinburgh : H. M. General Register House, 1898-
Storage I45PSSM
Library has v.1-11

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers, domestic series, of the reign of Charles I, 1625 [-1649] preserved in the State Paper Department of Her Majesty's Public Record Office.
Nendeln, Liechtenstein, Kraus Reprint, 1967. 23 v.
Baker Berry DA 25 .H55 1625-1649
Contents v.1. 1625-1626--v.2. 1627-1628.--v.3. 1628-1629.--v.4. 1629-1631.--v.5. 1631-1633.--v.6. 1633-1634.--v.7. 1634-1635.--v.8. 1635.--v.9. 1635-1636.--v.10. 1636-1637.--v.11. 1637.--v.12. 1637-1638.--v.13. 1638-1639.--v.14. 1639.--v.15 1639-1640.--v.16. 1640.--v.17. 1640-41.--v.18. 1641-43.--v.19. 1644.--v.20. 1644-1645.--v.21. 1645-1647.--v.22. 1648-1649.--v.23. Addenda: March 1625 to January 1649.

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers, domestic series, 1649-[1660] preserved in the State Paper Dept. of Her Majesty's Public Record Office. Edited by Mary Ann Everett Green.
Vaduz, Kraus Reprint, 1965. 13 v.
Baker Berry DA 25 .F47 1649-1660
Contents v.1. 1649-50 --v.2. 1650--v.3. 1651--v.4. 1651-52.--v.5. 1652-53.--v.6. 1653-54--v.7. 1654.--v.8 1655--v.9. 1655-1656--v.10. 1656-1657--v.11. 1657-1658--v.12. 1658-1659--v.13. 1659-1660.

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of the proceedings of the Committee for advance of money, 1642-1656. Preserved in H. M. Stationery office. [pt.I-III]
London, H. M. Stationery off., 1888 3 v.
Storage I45PSDca Pt.1-3

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers, domestic series, [of the reign of Charles II] / preserved in the Public Record Office ; edited by Mary Anne Everett Green.
Nendeln, Liechtenstein : Kraus, 1968. 28 v.
Baker Berry DA 25 .F48 1660-1685

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers, Domestic series, James II. : preserved in the Public Record Office.
Nendeln : Kraus Reprint, 1979.
Baker Berry DA 25 .F4 1685-1689
Note "Reprinted by permission of the Controller of H.M.S.O., London."
Contents v.l. February-December 1685.-- v. 2 January 1686-May 1687.

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers, Domestic series : of the reign of William and Mary : preserved in the Public Record Office / edited by William John Hardy ; London, Printed for H. M. Stationery off., by Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1895-1906.
Nendeln : Kraus Reprint, 1969.
Baker Berry DA 25 .F5 1689-1695
Contents [v. 1] 13 Feb. 1689-Aril 1690.--[v. 2] May 1690-October 1691.--[v. 3] 1st November 1691-end of 1692.--[v. 4] 1693.--[v. 5] 1694-1695.

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers, Domestic series, of the reign of William III ... Preserved in the Public record office.
Nendeln, Liechtenstein, Kraus, 1969.
Baker Berry DA 25 .F52 1689-1702
Contents [v.1] July 1-Dec. 31, 1695 and Addenda 1689-1695.--[v.2] 1 Jan.-31 Dec. 1696.--[v.3] 1 Jan.-31 Dec. 1697.--[v.4] 1 Jan.-31 Dec. 1698.--[v.5] 1 Jan. 1699-31 Mar. 1700.--[v.6] 1 Apr. 1700-8 Mar. 1702.--[v.7] 1 Jan.-31 Dec. 1696.--[v.8] 1 Jan.-31 Dec. 1697.--[v.9] 1 Jan.-31 Dec. 1698.--[v.10] 1 Jan. 1699-31 Mar. 1700.--[v.11] 1 Apr. 1700-8 Mar. 1702 (11 vols. in 6)

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers, Domestic series, of the reign of Anne, preserved in the Public record office. Edited by Robert Pentland Mahaffy. London, 1916-1924.
Nendeln, Kraus Reprint, 1968.
Baker Berry DA 25 .F6 1702-1704
Contents v. 1. 1702-1703.--v. 2. 1703-1704.

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
State papers domestic, George I (S.P.35), typescript calendar
London : Swift Printers, 1977-1982
Baker Berry DA 499 .G743 pt.1-4
Note Reprint of records deposited in the Public Record Office
Contents pt. 1. 1714-1719.-- pt. 2. 1719-1722.-- pt. 3. 1722-1725.-- pt. 4. 1725-1727 and supplementary material, 1714-1725

* Great Britain. Court of Chancery.
Chancery patent rolls calendar ( ... Jas I)
Imprint [London, Swift (P & D)] ; 1974-1977
Baker Berry Oversize KD 6937 .A3698 v.6-29

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers and manuscripts, existing in the archives and collections of Milan ... Pub. by the authority of the lords commissioners of His Majesty's Treasury under the direction of the master of the rolls
London, Pub. by H.M. Stationery Off., printed by the Hereford Times Limited, Hereford, 1912- Baker Berry I45PFM

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers ; Colonial series. Preserved in the State Paper Dept. of H. M. Public Record Office
London, H. M. Stationary Office, 1860-1963
Storage I45PSC v.1-44 1513-1738
Library has v. 1-44 (1513-1738)

* Bodleian Library.
Calendar of the Clarendon state papers preserved in the Bodleian library
Oxford, Clarendon press, 1932-
Baker Berry CD1069 .O9 1872
Library has: v . 1-5
Contents v.1. To 1649, ed. by the Rev. O. Ogle and W. H. Bliss. 1872.--v.2-3. 1649-1657, ed. by the Rev. W. Dunn Macray. 1869-76.--v.4. 1657-1660, ed. by F.J. Routledge. 1932.--v.5. 1660-1726, ed. by F. J. Routledge. 1970

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of state papers, relating to English affairs, preserved principally at Rome, in the Vatican archives and library. Ed. by J. M. Rigg
London Pr. under the authority of H. M. Stationery Office, 1916-1926 2v
Baker Berry I45PFR v.1-2

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of inquisitions miscellaneous (Chancery) preserved in the Public Record Office.
Imprint London, H. M. Stationery Off., 1916-
Storage I45PCIm v. 1-7
Contents v.1. 1219-1307.- v.2. 1307-1349.- v.3. 1348-1377.- v.4. 1377-1387.- v.5. 1387-1393.- v.6. 1392-1399.- v.7. 1399-1422.

* Great Britain. Historical Manuscripts Commission.
Calendar of the manuscripts of the Most Honourable the Marquess of Salisbury ... preserved at Hatfield House, Hertfordshire ..
London [etc.] 1883-
Baker/Berry Stacks DA/25/M2/S3
Library has pt.1-24 At present the period covered is 1509-1668; volumes are occasionally added.


 
 

Calendars

 

Library Web Manager | Privacy Policy

Dartmouth College Library • Hanover, NH, USA 03755 • Phone: (603) 646-2560 • Email

Top of page | Copyright © 2008 Trustees of Dartmouth College

Description

  Loading content... please wait