Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

British History 

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dartmouth.edu/british_history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

State Papers             Print Page
  
 

Original State Papers and Related Documents


Online Resources

Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online 

This database contains the full text of various British and Scottish Calendars (of Papers, Letters, Patent Rolls), Accounts, Acts, Histories, and Registers. It's an ongoing project; many titles are partially complete online and others have yet to appear.
Full text searching of keywords and phrases is supported and enhances access to the material.

British History Online 

British History Online is a digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, it aims to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research.

Henry III Fine Rolls Project 

The Henry III Fine Rolls Project is a pioneering enterprise in publishing for the first time an English calendar of the fine rolls from 1216 down to 1248 in the form of an electronic edition including the digital facsimile images.


Microform and Print

The film collections usually have introductory notes and reel guides, both brief, at the beginning of the film. The reel guides are frequently only listings of inclusive dates. Occasionally, if the film is based upon a collection which has a printed inventory, a copy of that guide will be photographed on the first reel and serves as an index.

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of the liberate rolls preserved in the Public Record Office.  [1226-1267]
Prepared under the superintendence of the Deputy Keeper of the records
Imprint     London, 1916-1961
Storage      I45PCEℓ  v.1-6

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of the close rolls preserved in the Public Record Office  [1127-1413]
Imprint     London : H. M. Stationery Office, 1892-
Storage      I45PCEcℓ  v.1-61

* Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Calendar of the patent rolls preserved in the Public Record Office. [1216-1558]
Prepared under the superintendence of the deputy keeper of the records.
Imprint     London, H. M. Stationery Off., 1891-
Description     v. 27 cm.
Storage      I45PCEp

* Edward VI, King of England, 1547-1553.
State Papers (Foreign) of Edward VI, 1547-1553. 6 reels
Jones Media Center, Microfilm 4081r

* Edward VI, King of England, 1547-1553.
The Complete State Papers Domestic of Edward VI, 1547-1553. 4 reels
Jones Media Center, Microfilm 3955r

* Mary I, Queen of England, 1516-1558.
The Complete State Papers Domestic of Mary I (1553-1558). 11 reels
Jones Media Center, Microfilm 3956r

* Mary I, Queen of England, 1516-1558.
State Papers (Foreign) of Mary I, 1553-1558. 5 reels
Jones Media Center, Microfilm 4080r

* Elizabeth I, Queen of England, 1533-1603.
The State Papers Domestic for the Years 1558-1603. 111 reels
Jones Media Center, Microfilm 3957r

* Elizabeth I, Queen of England, 1533-1603.
Uncalendared State Papers Foreign of Elizabeth I for the Period May 1592-March 1603 [microform]: Denmark; Flanders; France; Germany (Empire) and Hungary; Germany (State); Hamburg and Hanse Towns; Holland; Italian States and Rome; Spain; Venice. 31 reels
Jones Media Center, Microfilm 4200r

* Carew, George, 1555-1629.
Elizabethan Ireland and the Settlement of Ulster [microfilm]; the Carew Papers at Lambeth Palace Library. 15 reels
Jones Media Center, Microfilm 4161r

See also: The Calendar of Carew Manuscripts. 6 vols.
Baker/Berry Stacks DA/25/.J6/1974, which covers 1515-1623.

* James I, King of Great Britain, 1566-1626.
The State Papers Domestic for the Years 1603-1625 of James I's Reign. 85 reels
Jones Media Center, Microfilm 3958r

* Great Britain. Court of Star Chamber.
Star Chamber and English Society in the Reign of James I . . . . 28 reels
Jones Media Center, Microfilm 4035r

* Charles I, King of England, 1626-1649.
The State Papers Domestic for the Years 1625-1649 of Charles I's Reign. 127 reels
Jones Media Center, Microfilm 4129r

* A Collection of the State Papers of John Thurloe. Containing authentic memorials of the English affairs from the year 1638, to the restoration of King Charles II. Published from the originals, formerly in the library of John lord Somers ... and since in that of Sir Joseph Jekyll ... Including also a considerable number of original letters and papers, communicated by ... the Archbishop of Canterbury from the library of Lambeth ... the Earl of Shelburn, and other hands. The whole digested into an exact order of time. To which is prefixed, The life of Mr. Thurloe; with a complete index to each volume.
London, Printed for the executor of F. Gyles, 1742
Contents v. 1. Papers from the year 1638 to 1653.--v. 2. 1653 to 1654.--v. 3. December 1654 to September 1655.--v. 4. September 1655 to May 1656.--v. 5. 1655 [i.e. May 1656 to January 1657]--v. 6. 1657 to 1658.--v. 7. 1658 to 1660
Storage H456 T425c  v.1-7

* Addenda to the complete state papers domestic, Edward VI to James I, 1547-1625
Brighton, Sussex, England : Harvester Press, c1981.
Complete state papers domestic. Series I, 1547-1625. microform ; pt. 11, reel 210-227.
Jones Media Center, Microfilm 3958.2r

* Burghley, William Cecil, Baron, 1520-1598.
Lord Burghley's papers in the British Library in London / edited by Michael Hawkins. Hassocks, Eng. : Harvester Press, 1976. Politics and administration of Tudor England.
Jones Media Center, Microfilm 3870r

* Great Britain. Laws, etc.
The Statutes of the Realm ... From original records, etc. (1101-1713) [Edited by A. Luders, Sir T. Edlyn Tomlins, J. France, W.E. Tauton, and J. Raithby
Imprint London, 1810-28 11 v.
Note: Vol. 4, pt.2 LOST
Storage I45 2025 v.1-9, index, practical index

* Great Britain. Record Commission.
State papers, published under the authority of His Majesty's Commission. King Henry the Eighth
Imprint London, Printed by G. Eyre and A. Strahan [etc.] 1830-52 5 pts. in 11 v. fold. maps, fold. tables.
Storage I45 PSHp v.1-11

* Great Britain. Privy Council.
Proceedings and ordinances of the Privy Council of England ... Ed. by Sir Harris Nicolas .. Imprint [London, Printed by G. Eyre and A. Spottiswoode] 1834-37
Baker Berry DA 25 .B1 1834 v. 1-7

Contents I. 10 Richard II, 1386 to 11 Henry IV, 1410.--II. 12 Henry IV, 1410 to 10 Henry V, 1422.--III. 1-7 Henry VI, 1422-1429.--IV. 8-14 Henry VI, 1429-1436.--V. 15-21 Henry VI, 1436-1443.--VI. 22-39 Henry VI, 1443-1461.--VII. 32-33 Henry VIII, 1540-1542
Continued by "Acts of the Privy Council of England. New series ... Ed. by John Roche Dasent."

* Great Britain. Privy Council.
Acts of the Privy Council of England. New series. 1542-1604; 1613-1631 [Continuation of its Proceedings and ordinances of the Privy Council of England, ed by H. Nicholas]
Imprint London : Printed for His Majesty's Stationery Office by Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1890-1949 46 v.
Baker Berry DA 25 .B1 1890 v.1-42

* Great Britain. Privy Council.
Privy Council registers, 1631-1637 (Micro-opaque)
Imprint London, H. M Stationery Off., 1962 Descript 200 cards 3 X 5
Jones Media Micro card 973c

* Great Britain. Privy Council.
Privy Council registers preserved in the Public Record Office, reproduced in facsimile
Imprint London, H.M.S.O., 1967-
Baker Berry Oversize DA 25 .B1 1967 v. 1-12 Library has v. 1-12 only.

Contents v. 1. 1 June-31 October 1637

* Great Britain. Foreign Office.
British and foreign state papers
Imprint London
V.1-169, 1812-14--1967-68; V.170 (Index 1961-68)
Storage I45F v. 1-170 1812/14-1967/68

Note V.1-63; 1373-1873 in v.64 V.65-92; 1873-1900 in v.93 V.94-114; 1900-1921 in v.115 V.116-137; 1922-1934 in v.138 V.139-164; 1935-1960 in v.165 V.165-169; 1961-1968 v.170

English historical documents.
General editor: David C. Douglas
Imprint [New York, Oxford University Press, [1953-69] J
LIB. HAS v. 1- Latest Received: 1977J12:1-2
Baker Berry DA 26 .E55 v.1-5, 8-11, v.12 pt.1-2

Contents v.1. c.500-1042, ed. by D. Whitelock.-v.2. 1042-1189, edited by D.C. Douglas and G.W. Greenaway.-v.4. 1327-1485, ed. by A.R. Myers.-v.5. 1485-1558, ed. by C.H. Williams.-v.8. 1660-1714, ed. by Andrew Browning.-v.9. American colonial documents to 1776, ed. by M. Jensen.-v.10. 1714-1783, ed. by D.B. Horn and Mary Ransome.-v.11. 1783-1832, ed. by A. Aspinall and E. Anthony Smith.-v.12,pt. 1. 1833-1874, ed. by G.M. Young and W.D. Handcock

 

Reference Bibliographer

Profile ImageFrancis Oscadal
Contact Info:
180 Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755

History Department Office Hours
3rd Floor, Carson Hall
Mon. 10:00-11:00 am
Wed. 2:00-3:00 pm
* And by appointment *
Tel. 603 646-0789
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Medieval & Renaissance Studies

 

Library Web Manager | Privacy Policy

Dartmouth College Library • Hanover, NH, USA 03755 • Phone: (603) 646-2560 • Email

Top of page | Copyright © 2008 Trustees of Dartmouth College

Description

  Loading content... please wait