Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

British History 

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dartmouth.edu/british_history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Electronic Texts             Print Page
  
 

Electronic Texts

 

British History Online
A digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.

Cobbett's Parliamentary History of England  (1066-1803) at "Oxford Digital Library"

Early English Books Online (EBBO)
Bibliographic citations and links to facsimile image files for nearly every book published in England from 1475 to 1700. Contains over 100,000 documents.

Eigthteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
ECCO features over 138,000 English-language and foreign-language titles (155,000 volumes and 26 million pages) printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, as well as thousands of important works from the Americas.

Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800)

Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819)
Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography this collection contains approximately 36,000 works published in North America, including titles first published in Britain.

Empire Online
A searchable full-text collection of primary documents relating to Empire Studies.

Hansard Online
Searchable online database of Parliamentary debates, available from 1988 to present. Volumes from 1999 are indexed. See also the Hansard Advanced search engine.

Henry III Fine Rolls Project
The Henry III Fine Rolls Project is a pioneering enterprise in publishing for the first time an English calendar of the fine rolls from 1216 down to 1248 in the form of an electronic edition including the digital facsimile images.

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers   (1801-1900)

Journals of the House of Commons (Vol. 1-12, 1547-1699; Vol. 85, 1830) at "British History Online"

Journals of the House of Lords (Vol. 1-20, 1547-1717; Vol. 62-64, 1830-1832) at "British History Online"

Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)
This database contains the full text of various British and Scottish Calendars (of Papers, Letters, Patent Rolls), Accounts, Acts, Histories, and Registers. It's an ongoing project; many titles are partially complete online and others have yet to appear.
Full text searching of keywords and phrases is supported and enhances access to the material.

19th Century British Library Newspapers

19th Century British Pamphlets
A JSTOR collection that will contain more than 26,000 pamphlets - at "Advanced Search" select "British Studies" from the Discipline/Titles list.

Parliament Rolls of Medieval England
The rolls of parliament were the official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I (1272 - 1307) until the reign of Henry VII (1485 - 1509), after which they were superseded by the journals of the lords and, somewhat later, of the commons.
This is a modern english translation.

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers


Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985

 

 

 

 

 

Library Web Manager | Privacy Policy

Dartmouth College Library • Hanover, NH, USA 03755 • Phone: (603) 646-2560 • Email

Top of page | Copyright © 2008 Trustees of Dartmouth College

Description

  Loading content... please wait