Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

British History 

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dartmouth.edu/british_history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citing Sources             Print Page
  
 

RefWorks

RefWorks your personal Web-based database and bibliography creator. 

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. It automatically formats citations in the style you choose, e.g. Chicago, MLA....
Extensive HELP screens and an online Tutorial are available for new and experienced users.

RefWorks is licensed by the Dartmouth College Library and is free for Dartmouth students and faculty.
It is just one of several citation manager products. Anyone interested in other products may wish to investigate them. Examples include EndNote, Bookends (for Macs), ProCite, and PAPYRUS.

 
 

Citation Manuals and Guides

Sources their use and acknowledgement.

Completely revised in 2008.
From the preface:

"This document provides a broad overview of the practice of citing sources. It discusses why learning to cite sources is an essential part of your education, as well as why failing to cite your sources properly can have serious consequences."


Rampolla, Mary Lynn.
A Pocket Guide to Writing in History

5th ed.
Boston : Bedford/St. Martin's, c2007.
Baker Berry Ref. D13 .R295 2007 (Catalog Record)

This guide contains a very helpful section on documenting sources excerpted from The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed


The Chicago Manual of Style Online

This is the online version of the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition.

See CHAPTER 17 for examples of how to cite Articles, Books, Documents, Electronic Publications, Interviews, Websites, etc.

The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed. 

(Copies located at several Dartmouth libraries)
Baker Berry Ref Z253 .C57 (Catalog Record)
Berry Ref Desk (copy 2)

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 6th ed. (Turabian) 

Berry Ref Desk

Online Guides for The Chicago Manual of Style

Several guides are included to take advantage of the variety of examples, not always repeated, in these pages.

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

Chicago Style Q & A (from CMOS Online)

Chicago Style: History (dianahacker.com)

Ursinus College

Williams College

UC Berkeley

U. of Wisconsin - Madison

Ohio State Univ.


MLA handbook for writers of research papers 

Baker Berry Ref. LB2369 .G53 2003 (Catalog Record)

Berry Ref Desk (copy 2)

Online Guides for the MLA citation style

MLA Style 7th ed. 2009 (Diana Hacker update) (PDF)

MLA Style: Humanities (dianahacker.com)

Duke University (MLA 7th ed)

Purdue University (MLA 7th ed)

UC Berkeley (MLA 6th ed)
 
 

CMS

 

Library Web Manager | Privacy Policy

Dartmouth College Library • Hanover, NH, USA 03755 • Phone: (603) 646-2560 • Email

Top of page | Copyright © 2008 Trustees of Dartmouth College

Description

  Loading content... please wait