Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

British History 

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dartmouth.edu/british_history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Sources             Print Page
  
 

Reference Universe

Start your research here:

(type any word/phrase, then press ENTER / RETURN)

Reference Universe indexes the contents of 20,000+ print and electronic reference titles and links to Dartmouth Library holdings.

This is an "academic" alternative to Wikipedia.

 

General reference

The Oxford companion to British history Licensed for Dartmouth only. Full Text

edited by John Cannon.
Oxford [England] ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2002. Rev.ed.

Print edition:
Baker/Berry Reference DA/34/O93/2002

Oxford dictionary of national biography Full Text

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, in association with the British Academy is the first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2001. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. It is the achievement of 10,000 contributors and advisers staff in Oxford. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2001 (as of January 12, 2005). �

The Oxford English dictionary Licensed for Dartmouth only. Full Text

The 2nd Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED2). This famous dictionary presents a historical record of the development of words in the English language from approximately 1150 A.D. through 1988. Included in the dictionary are 616,500 word-forms with 2,412,400 illustrative quotations. The OED2 can be used to search for quotations, slang, and idiomatic expressions as well as word definitions. For each entry, the OED2 provides an identification of the word (with usual spelling), pronunciation, grammatical designation (part of speech), status (such as obsolete or archaic), and etymology (derivation and date that the word was introduced into the language and a comprehensive listing of the various spellings and meanings as they have changed over time). This information is documented with quotations from over 5,000 authors. Licensed for use at Dartmouth College only. The Oxford English dictionary. 2nd ed. / prepared by J.A. Simpson and E.S.C. Weiner. Oxford: Clarendon Press; New York : Oxford University Press, 1989.

Print edition:
Baker/Berry Reference PE/1625/O87/1989

      
     
     

    Winston Churchill

     

    Library Web Manager | Privacy Policy

    Dartmouth College Library • Hanover, NH, USA 03755 • Phone: (603) 646-2560 • Email

    Top of page | Copyright © 2008 Trustees of Dartmouth College

    Description

      Loading content... please wait