Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Getting Started with Library Research 

getting started with the Dartmouth College Library
Last update: Jun 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dartmouth.edu/gettingstarted  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

Need Help? Ask Us!

Librarians are available to help guide you no matter what you're looking for:

  • Email us to ask a question or get more information.
  • Phone a reference librarian.
  • Visit a reference desk to talk with a librarian.
  • For help from another student, visit RWIT, the Student Center for Research, Writing, and Information Technology.
 

Citation Finder

I have a citation for an article -- how do I find full text?

  • If you're in Search360 or another database, click on Article Linker iconto search Dartmouth's collections for the article.
  • Or, use the Article Citation Finder to locate full text.
  • If Dartmouth doesn't subscribe to the journal, use DartDoc to request a copy of the article.
 
 

How do I find articles?

To find articles on your topic, use an article index -- a database containing records for articles from hundreds or thousands of journals, newspapers, or magazines.  An article index may lead you to full-text articles, or it may give you a list of citations -- the author, title, journal, volume, issue, and page number information you need to locate the article. Indexes can also include citations to book chapters, conference reports, and more.

Not sure which article index to use? Start with Search360!

  • Search360 allows you to search multiple article indexes simultaneously. Enter your search terms, choose a general subject category (e.g. Arts & Humanities), and Search360 will find relevant articles for you.
  • A multidisciplinary article index like Academic Search Premier or one of the WilsonWeb databases can also be a great place to start. Web of Science covers all disciplines and is especially strong in the sciences.
  • For full-text articles, try Academic Search Premier (mostly journals and magazines) or Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (mostly news). JSTOR is a full-text archive of journal articles that is especially strong in the humanities and social sciences (but be aware that articles from the most recent five years are not included in JSTOR).
  • Don't know which article index to use? Ask a librarian!

OR ... try a specialized index for more in-depth articles

  • Search360 can suggest which article index would be most useful for your research – just enter your search and see which database returns the most relevant results.
  • Want a recommendation that's specific for your topic? Look at Resources by Subject for a guide to the key information resources in your subject area, written by reference librarians. These guides recommend the best article indexes and other resources, and contain tips on how to use them effectively.
  • For more help, contact a librarian who is a specialist in your subject area.
 

Reference Assistance

Profile ImageBaker Berry Reference Desk
Contact Info:
(603) 646-2704
Send Email

 

Library Web Manager | Privacy Policy

Dartmouth College Library • Hanover, NH, USA 03755 • Phone: (603) 646-2560 • Email

Top of page | Copyright © 2008 Trustees of Dartmouth College

Description

  Loading content... please wait