Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Getting Started with Library Research 

getting started with the Dartmouth College Library
Last update: Jun 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dartmouth.edu/gettingstarted  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citing Sources             Print Page
  
 

RefWorks

RefWorks is an online citation manager that can help you keep track of your references. It can also format your references according to the style of your choice (e.g., MLA, Chicago, APA, etc.). The Library subscribes to RefWorks, which allows members of the Dartmouth community to use RefWorks at no cost.

Click here for the Library's overview of RefWorks and other reference manager programs, or view narrated tutorials on how to get started with RefWorks.

 

Need Help Citing Sources?

Librarians are available to help guide you no matter what you're looking for:

  • Email us to ask a question or get more information.
  • Phone a reference librarian.
  • Visit a reference desk to talk with a librarian.
  • For help from another student, visit RWIT, the Student Center for Research, Writing, and Information Technology.
 
 

MLA Style

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used in Humanities disciplines such as English and Philosophy, and in many first-year Writing courses. Unfortunately, the MLA Handbook is not available in electronic form. However, there are a few reliable "crib sheets." Two online sources for MLA style include Dartmouth's Sources handbook and Diana Hacker's Research and Documentation Online. An internet search will find other online crib sheets, but when in doubt, check against the MLA Handbook or ask a Librarian.

For complete details on citing sources with MLA style, consult the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed. Print copies are available at the Baker-Berry Reference Desk and in the Reference collection. Additional copies are available at the Reserve Desk in the Orozco Room in Baker Library.

Generaly, MLA style uses in-text parenthetical citations with a list of works cited. If your instructor requires you to use footnotes or endnotes, consult Appendix B of the MLA Handbook.

 

Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition

Use the Chicago Manual Quick Guide to find out how to cite books, book chapters, journal articles, and more.

The Quick Guide gives examples for both the Notes & Bibliography system and the Author/Date system.

If you are using the Notes & Bibliography method:

  • N: shows how the citation appears in a footnote or endnote.
  • B: is how it appears in your bibliography.

If you are using the Author/Date system:

  • T: shows how the citation appears as an in-text citation.
  • R: is how it appears in your reference list at the end of your paper.

If the document type you wish to cite isn't in the Quick Guide, consult Chapter 17 of the Chicago Manual.

Print copies of the Chicago Manual can be found at the Baker Berry Reference Desk as well as Baker Berry Reference Z253 .C57. Copies of the latest edition are also available under the same call number at Kresge Reference, Dana Reference, Matthews-Fuller Reference, and Rauner Reference.

 

 

Reference Assistance

Profile ImageBaker Berry Reference Desk
Contact Info:
(603) 646-2704
Send Email

 

Library Web Manager | Privacy Policy

Dartmouth College Library • Hanover, NH, USA 03755 • Phone: (603) 646-2560 • Email

Top of page | Copyright © 2008 Trustees of Dartmouth College

Description

  Loading content... please wait