Basics/Overview
- A Guide to Private Equity by the British Venture Capital Association
- Global Trends in Venture Capital : 2009 Global Report by Deloitte
- Private Equity Demystified: An Explanatory Guide by John Gilligan & Mike Wright / Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW)
- The Venture Capital Industry: An Overview by National Venture Capital Association
- WetFeet Venture Capital Overview
Associations
- Associations Unlimited Search to find more VC or PE associations.
- European Private Equity & Venture Capital Association (EVCA)
- Directory of EVCA Members Feldberg Ref. HG4751 .E91
- National Association of Small Business Investment Companies (NASBIC)
- National Venture Capital Association (NVCA) Includes links to Regional Venture Capital Organizations in the US and Venture Capital Organizations Outside the US.
- Emerging Markets Private Equity Association
- National Business Incubation Association (NBIA)
Statistics
- EVCA Yearbook Feldberg Ref. HG5421 .V463
by the European Venture Capital Association, includes survey and statistics on the industry. - Investment Benchmarks: Venture Capital Feldberg Ref. HG3729.U5 I58
- National Venture Capital Association Yearbook Feldberg Ref. HG4961 .N38
- National Venture Capital Association: Latest Industry Statistics
- MoneyTree Survey Quarterly study of venture capital investment activity in the United States
Links
- peHub Private Equity Hub is an interactive forum for the private equity community, which includes venture capitalists, buyouts professionals, attorneys, bankers, entrepreneurs, MBA candidates studying PE. For MBA Forum students must register first (free); using Tuck’s access code.
- VCCircle VC Circle is a news website tracking India’s investment economy.
- TheFunded.com TheFunded.com is an online community of entrepreneurs to research, rate, and review funding sources worldwide. In addition, TheFunded.com allows entrepreneurs to view and share term sheets, to assist one another finding good investors, and to discuss the
- International Private Equity and Venture Capital Valuation Guidelines The valuation guidelines were developed by the Association Française des Investisseurs en Capital (AFIC), the British Venture Capital Association (BVCA) and the European Private Equity and Venture Capital Association (EVCA) and were launched in March 2005 to reflect the need for greater comparability across the industry and for consistency with IFRS and US GAAP accounting principles.
Company Directories
Asian Private Equity 300 (Feldberg Ref. HG5701 .G85)
Information on the top 300 private equity firms in Asia. It also includes a yearly overview and industry statistics.
Guide to Venture Capital in Asia (Asian Private Equity Online Directory)
Profiles Asian/Pacific venture capital firms; search by company, people, fund; includes the Asian private equity 300 and a listing of venture capital associations in Asia.
Capital IQ (restricted to Tuck community)
Information on over 10,600 private capital firms and 230,000 transactions worldwide. Sophisticated screening capabilities, look at Search Examples for tips.
Corporate Venturing Directory & Yearbook (Feldberg Ref. HG4751 .C67)
200+ corporate profiles include key personnel, investment goals, investment criteria, and financial details of recent deals. Plus, expert articles review the elements that are necessary for successful corporate venturing programs.
Directory of Alternative Investment Programs
- Available in Feldberg on CD in carrels #1 & 2
- Also hardcopy: Feldberg Ref. HG4509 .D5683
Profiles on over 600 institutional investors and investment advisors, and the criteria they use to select private equity partnerships. Search by type of institution, location, type of program (e.g. mezzanine, buyouts).
Directory of Limited Partners : Investors in Private Equity and Other Alternative Asset Funds (Feldberg Ref. HG3729.U5 D573)
Profiles of 1,500 institutions and individuals who invest in private equity funds. Information includes asset managers, preferred investments, investment interests, etc.
Galante's Venture Capital & Private Equity Directory
-
Available in Feldberg on CD in carrels #1 & 2
Guide to all types of risk capital for private, entrepreneurial companies including over 2,000 venture capital, LBO/MBO, and mezzanine firms. Search by name, location, investment size, transaction size, type of capital, funding stage preference, and geographic and industry preferences.
Pratt's Guide to Venture Capital Sources
-
Also available in paper: Feldberg Ref. HG65 .G86
Directory of 1,400+ venture capital firms worldwide, includes contact info, capital under management, recent investments and more. Search by company, personnel, investment stage, and industry preferences. Hardcopy book has good introductory chapters on : structuring investments, preparing a business plan, meeting with a venture capitalist, and more.
Database of 50,000+ private equity backed companies, 8,500+ private equity firms, and 15,000+ funds. 30+ years of history covering buyouts, private equity funds, firms, executives, portfolio companies and limited partners around the world. In addition, allows queries and reports on fund commitments, performance, investments, performance, IPOs and mergers & acquisitions. Note: VentureXpert is also available via SDC Platinum (computer workstations #1-4 in Feldberg).
Search for Articles on Venture Capital & Private Equity Topics
ABI/INFORM Global
Start with one of the following searches and add additional keywords to narrow your focus:
Business Source Complete
Start with one of the following searches and add additional keywords to narrow your focus:
Tip: search both ABI and BSC, there are some publications that are unique to each, e.g. Harvard Business Review is covered in one but not the other.
Factiva
Limit your search by "Industry" : private equity, venture capital, alternative investments, hedge funds
Career Resources
- Vault Career Insider (restricted to Tuck community)
- WetFeet, Inc. (restricted to Tuck community)
- Going Global: Career & Employment Resources (restricted to Tuck community)
- The Deal Career Center
- AltAssets Jobs
- bankjobs.com
- Community Development Venture Capital Alliance - Job Board CDVCA promotes use of the tools of venture capital to create jobs, entrepreneurial capacity and wealth to advance the livelihoods of low-income people and the economies of distressed communities.
- eFinancialCareers - Private Equity & Venture Capital
- FINAlternatives Job Board
Private equity and hedge fund jobs. - Getting a Job in Private Equity Behind-the-Scenes Insight into How Private Equity Funds Hire You'll gain invaluable insights, discover what it takes to make it in PE from different entry points, what experience is needed to set yourself up for a position, and what can be done to improve your chances of landing one of these limited opportunities.
- Glocap Search Glocap Search is a search firm serving various industries: private equity funds, hedge funds, investment banks, fund of funds, consulting firms, and others.
- Kauffman Fellows Program at the Center for Venture Education
- New England Tech Wire New England Tech Wire is a free daily e-mail service summarizing the business of technology in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont.
- peHUB Job Board The peHUB Careers Board provides job opportunities for private equity professionals around the world. Students must register first (free); using Tuck’s access code. For Summer Internships, go to the “MBA Forum” tab and under the “Employment” section see the postings.
- PER - Private Equity Recruitment
- Private Equity International (PEI) – PE Careers
- Private Equity Jobs Digest
- TheFunded.com Jobs TheFunded.com Jobs is an exclusive job posting service focused on recruiting CoFounders, Board Members, CEOs and Managing Directors.
- VCCCircle - Jobs
- Venture Capital Access Online (vcaonline)
Tuck Links
Private Equity & Venture Capital covered by Karen Sluzenski. Send Email
News
The Deal Pipeline
News and deal analysis including: venture capital, private equity, M&A, debt financing, bankruptcy & more.
VentureWire Professional (restricted to Tuck community)
News and information about venture-backed companies and their investors
including recent financing deals, statistical trends and personnel
changes, current deals, future financing plans, behind-the-scenes
insight, burn rates, valuations and forward market trends.
AltAssets ![]()
Global Private Equity News and Research
DowJones Financial News - Private Equity ![]()
New on private equity industry.
FINAlternatives
![]()
News on the alternative investment industry.
NYT DealBook ![]()
News on venture capital, private equity, M&A, hedge funds, investment banking & more.
WSJ Private Equity Beat ![]()
An inside view into the deals, personalities and issues ahead in the world of private equity.
WSJ Venture Capital Dispatch
![]()
Insight into the newest start-ups and the latest trends in venture capital investing.
Trade Journals
- American Venture
- Asia Private Equity Review
- Asia Private Equity Review - Greater China (Chinese Language - Simplified)
- Asia Private Equity Review - Greater China (Chinese Language - Traditional)
- Asia Private Equity Review News Flash
- Asiamoney
- Buyouts (electronic copy)
- Buyouts (paper copy)
- European Venture Capital and Private Equity Journal (European VCJ)
- Journal of Business Venturing
- Journal of Private Equity
- Journal of Private Equity: Strategies and Techniques for Venture Investing
- PE Week - Thomson Private Equity Week
- Private Equity Analyst
- Private Equity International
- Private Equity Week
- Private Placement Letter
- Risk
- The Daily Deal : The Journal for Corporate, Law & Finance Professionals
- UK Venture Capital Journal
- Venture Capital : An International Journal of Entrepreneurial Finance
- Venture Capital Journal
Books @ Feldberg
Vault Career Guide to Venture CapitalBarbarians at the Gate : the Fall of RJR Nabisco - Bryan Burrough and John Helyar
Call Number: Feldberg HD2796.R57 B97 1991
Click on title for availability.
Buyout : the Insider's Guide to Buying Your Own Company - Rick Rickertsen with Robert E. Gunther
Electronic Book
Fundamentals of Venture Capital - Joseph W. Bartlett
Call Number: Feldberg HG4751 .B36 1999
Click on title for availability.
The money of Invention : How Venture Capital Creates New Wealth - Paul A. Gompers, Josh Lerner
Call Number: Feldberg HG4963 .G658 2001
Click on title for availability.
The New Financial Capitalists : Kohlberg Kravis Roberts and the Creation of Corporate Value - George P. Baker, George David Smith
Call Number: Feldberg HG4028.M4 B335 1998
Click on title for availability.
Also available as an Electronic Book
The Private Equity Edge : How Private Equity Players and the World's Top Companies Build Value and Wealth - Arthur B. Laffer, William J. Hass, Shepherd G. Pryor
Call Number: Feldberg HG4751 .L34 2009
Click on title for availability.
Winning Angels : the Seven Fundamentals of Early-Stage Investing - David Amis and Howard Stevenson
Call Number: Feldberg HG4521 .A538 2001
Click on title for availability.


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait