Journal Articles
ABI/INFORM global
Excellent database for business and management journals. Can search by geographic entity.
Business Source Complete
Excellent database for business and management journals. Can search by geographic entity.
EconLit
A wide range of economic journal articles can be found here.
Newspaper Articles
Factiva
Choose a region and/or language for newspaper articles which you can then keyword search.
Library PressDisplay
Includes 1,020 newspapers from 84 countries in
facsimile form - this means all newspapers are readable in their
original format, layout and pagination. Texts are searchable, and about
30 papers (LA Times, Washington Post, etc.) have enhanced features
("SmartNavigation") for easy reading or cutting and pasting. The file
for each newspaper goes back 60 days.
FT.com Emerging Market News current news on emerging markets from the Financial Times.
Forbes.com Emerging Market News current news on emerging markets from Forbes.
Basic Country Information
ISI Emerging Markets
Macroeconomic data, company, industry, finance
information for almost 70 emerging markets. Information in multiple
languages and often unique. Updated daily.
EIU.com
Includes three different reports on most nations
in the world. Country Reports keep pace of national, regional and
global events in the short-to medium term and are updated monthly.
Country Profiles are published annually and outline a country's
economic and political status and background. Country Data is a
powerful and robust macroeconomic database, the most comprehensive
source of economic indicators and forecasts available delivering more
than 320 economic series, over 1 million individual data points, from
1980 to 2008.
Euromonitor Passport
Includes market information from around the world: country statistics and profiles, and lifestyle indicators and analysis.
Click on "Country Information" to find specifics on the country of your choice. The IMF also produces the following:
- International Financial Statistics Search historical financial information for most countries in the world. Download into excel format.
- Global Financial Stability Report provides an assessment of the global financial system and markets, and addresses emerging market financing in a global context. It focuses on current market conditions, highlighting systemic issues that could pose a risk to financial stability and sustained market access by emerging market borrowers.
United Nations
Provides
a wide variety of information on countries throughout the world. Of
particular interest are the statistics and profiles offered in UNData (formerly known as the UN Common Database).
World Bank
Choose "Data and Research" from the main page.
- World Development Reports The annual World Development Report provides a wide international readership with an extraordinary window on development economics. Each year, the report focuses on a specific aspect of development.
- WDI Online - World Development Indicators Online, this database includes approximately 800 indicators in 87 tables, organized in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links. The tables cover 152 economies and 14 country groups-with basic indicators for a further 55 economies.
Company and Industry Information
ISI Emerging Markets
Macroeconomic data, company, industry, finance
information for almost 70 emerging markets. Information in multiple
languages and often unique. Updated daily.
Global Business Browser
One stop shopping for company and industry information. More than 17,000,000 companies: represents public and private companies from around the world.
Capital IQ
From Standard & Poor's, this database provides a wealth of information on almost 2,000,000 companies.
Other Material
Business ethics : a manual for managing a responsible business enterprise in emerging market economies / a publication of the Good Governance Program.
BradyNet provides an overview of Brady Bonds; source of pricing and information on Emerging market debt; hosts a community of Emerging market investors with discussion forums.
Emerging Markets Companion provides emerging market commentary, news and research.
MBendi provides news and overviews with a main focus is on energy, mining, travel, trade and the developing world, especially Africa.
Emerging Markets produced by Euromoney, is a unique, free access source of information for investors, bankers and brokers working in the debt markets of the developing world, providing a broad range of news, features and analysis.
Emerging Markets Private Equity Association provides information on private equity and venture capital investing in the emerging markets of Africa, Asia, Central/Eastern Europe and Russia, Latin America, and the Middle East.
Emerging Market Trade Association EMTA is the principal trade group for the Emerging Markets trading and investment community.
Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC) supports U.S. investment in emerging markets worldwide, fostering development & the growth of free markets.


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait