Citations into Articles
Have a citation >> Want the article?
Turn journal abbreviations into full journal titles:
Genamics JournalSeek allows you to search on abbreviations or full titles.
If We Don't Own It
Request materials (all formats) from a huge network of libraries. [NOTE: The, oftentimes quicker, BorrowDirect service cannot be used for articles, only books.]
Google Scholar
Searching for articles
Search360 queries a pre-selected (by Dartmouth librarians) set of databases, all at once. Due to the fact that it adds an additional layer, things can get lost in translation. For more precision, search these databases individually in their native interfaces.
Recommended Article Indexes:
Journals (by Publisher)
Browse all of the eJournals in the Physical Sciences and Mathematics (including astronomy and physics) available through Dartmouth Library subscriptions. Or, explore journals by major publisher:
- AIP (American Institute of Physics)
In addition to the journals linked to above, the AIP also publishes Physics Today, and the volumnious AIP Conference Proceedings. The AIP has also partnered with the APS (see below) to publish the "Virtual Journals in Science and Technology", consisting of collections of current articles from numerous publication sources in specific subfields of physics. - APS (American Physical Society)
Access APS journal content (archival through 2005 - titles include "Physical Review A", "Physical Review B", "Reviews of Modern Physics", etc...) through PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive). The APS also produces the online "Physical Review Focus", offering short explanations for the non-specialist of the material presented in selected Physical Review articles, written by science writers. - IOP (Institute of Physics)
List of titles includes, "Classical and Quantum Gravity", The Journal of Physics Series (A. B, C, etc...), "Physics Today", and more. The IOP also provide the PhysicsWorld web site.
- ScienceDirect (from Elsevier)
Many titles of interest are listed in the Physics and Astronomy section; ScienceDirect also provides a search engine for article titles, authors and full text.
Summon Beta! & Survey

Try the Summon Beta, then fill out the 3-minute survey.
Dartmouth Users: Using Summon from off-campus? You'll need the VPN for access to full-text.
Physics (APS)
Physics is a new publication from the American Physical Society (APS), which highlights exceptional papers from the APS Physical Review journals through article reviews, synopses, and brief review articles. [Full description]

Loading RSS Feed...
PACS
PACS = The Physics and Astronomy Classification Scheme (AIP, American Institute of Physics)
What is PACS?
The Physics and Astronomy Classification Scheme® (PACS®) is a hierarchical subject classification scheme designed to classify and categorize the literature of physics and astronomy. PACS provides an essential tool for classification and efficient retrieval of literature in physics and astronomy; as such, PACS is used by AIP and other international publishers of journals in physics, astronomy, and related fields. (from the PACS page on the AIP Website)




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait