Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Biology 

A Guide to Resources at the Dartmouth College Library
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dartmouth.edu/biology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Keeping Current             Print Page
  

Biomedical Libraries

The Latest News

The sites below are good sources for tracking the latest news.

 

New Books at Dana


Loading RSS Feed...
 

New Books At Matthews-Fuller


Loading RSS Feed...
 
 

Dartmouth Biology Authors


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Journal Tables of Contents Alert Services

Sign up to receive the tables of contents of your favorite journals.

  • Individual Journal Table of Contents:  To set up alerts for your favorite journal, go to the online edition and follow the directions provided under headings such as "alerts" or "e-mail table of contents."  You can find eJournals by looking up the title in the Library Catalog, the Biomedical Libraries eJournals list, or in e-Journal Browser.  Or use a search engine like Google to find journals not available at Dartmouth.
  • ticTOCS Journal Tables of Contents Service: ticTOCs is a free tables of contents alert service covering over 11,000 scholarly journals from over 350 publishers.  ticTOCs allows you to view, export to feed readers like Google Reader, or save to MyTOCS.
  • PubMed's MyNCBI: PubMed's MyNCBI feature can be used to set up email alerts for articles in your favorite journals indexed in PubMed/MEDLINE.  See a 4-minute demonstration video.  The email alert received will contain a link to PubMed search results.  Be sure to sign into MyNCBI at the PubMed screen so that you see Dartmouth full-text links.
  • Ingenta Table of Contents Alerts: Ingenta is a table of contents service covering 30,000 journals in multiple disciplines.  Ingenta can also alert you to new articles on topics of interest.  The Dartmouth College Library's site license allow affiliated individuals at the College and DHMC to register and set up profiles.  Caution: Ingenta's table of contents alerts contain links to Ingenta's version of the journal, usually not accessible by Dartmouth's users.
 

Alert Services for Database Searches

Database alert services allow you to save search strategies and receive automatic alerts of new results matching your strategy.

  • PubMed: Register for MyNCBI; links are in the upper right corner and in the blue column at the left of the PubMed screen.  MyNCBI saves search strategies and has an option to automatically update and email search results on a schedule of your choice.  See PubMed's "Help" for more information.
  • Web of Science: Web of Science allows you to set up an automatic alert to email results to you weekly or monthly.  You can register or sign in on the first Web of Science screen, or at the point of saving a search strategy.  See "Help" within Web of Science for more information.
  • CSA's Ecology Abstracts and other databases: CSA allows each user to save up to twenty search strategies for a period of six months.  Saving the strategy as an alert means that you will receive an email each week with up to 250 records that match your strategy.  Click on "Help" in CSA for more information on saved searches.
  • EbscoHost: EbscoHost is a collection of ejournals from many disciplines.  You can search and save the strategy as an alert after first registering for a personal account.  See EbscoHost's help for more information.
  • Other databases: Many other search services and databases offer alerts and the ability to save search strategies.  Look for references to "alerts" or "saved searches" in the help section or guide.

RSS Feeds

Looking for a convenient way to keep up with the latest news? Try RSS feeds.

 

Help with this Subject

Profile ImageBiomedical Librarians
Contact Info:
Matthews-Fuller Library Reference
(603) 650-7660
hours: 9:00am to 5:00pm, M-F

Dana Biomedical Library Reference
(603) 650-1660
hours: 1:00pm to 5:00pm, M-F
Send Email

Subjects:
Medicine, Health, Biology, Nursing

 

Library Web Manager | Privacy Policy

Dartmouth College Library • Hanover, NH, USA 03755 • Phone: (603) 646-2560 • Email

Top of page | Copyright © 2008 Trustees of Dartmouth College

Description

  Loading content... please wait