Biomedical Libraries
Biology Journal Indexes
- Web of Science a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes over 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
- PubMed/MEDLINE PubMed is the freely accessible version of MEDLINE which indexes approximately 5,200 journals published in the U.S. and more than 80 other countries.
- Ecology Abstracts Indexes research in ecology and related disciplines back to 1982.
- Environment Abstracts Indexes environmental journals, plus conference papers and Federal government reports.
Finding Articles
Each index works differently. Look for online help screens to learn the index's search rules. Some indexes (MEDLINE, PsycINFO) have subject headings with thesauruses and may provide mapping to lead you to the correct terms to describe your topic. Other indexes (Web of Science) require keyword searching.
For keyword searching, think about synonyms, plurals, and various conjugations; learn how to truncate to look for root words with multiple suffixes and to combine terms with operators like AND, OR, and NOT.
Many indexes provide links to the articles. Look for links labled "Article Linker" or "Get Full Text." These will show you options for linking to the article or requesting a copy through Dartmouth's DartDoc service.
Browsing Journals
- Browse Biomedical eJournals, A-Z Over 4,000 journals in medicine and life sciences, available to Dartmouth/DHMC.
- Browse by Specific Biomedical Discipline
- Find or Browse More eJournals Search or browse the electronic journal titles available from the Dartmouth College Library, in all disciplines. Or fill in the information for a specific citation and go right to the article.
Primary Literature
What is "primary literature"?
- Primary literature: contain original data and ideas and are generally the first published record of an investigation. Examples include research articles, research monographs, preprints, patents, dissertations, and conference proceedings.
- Secondary sources: information about primary sources, usually a compilation or synthesis of various ideas and data. Secondary sources may rearrange or modify data and include such sources as indexes to the primary literature, reference works derived from primary research, and reviews. Examples include encyclopedias, review articles, handbooks, bibliographies, and abstracts/indexes.
- Tertiary sources: discuss science rather than contribute or are indirect sources. Examples include textbooks, directories, and literature guides.
Get Help with this Topic |
Biomedical LibrariansContact Info:
Matthews-Fuller Library Reference
(603) 650-7660
hours: 9:00am to 5:00pm, M-F
Dana Biomedical Library Reference
(603) 650-1660
hours: 1:00pm to 5:00pm, M-F
Send Email
Subjects:
Medicine, Health, Biology, Nursing
Matthews-Fuller Library Reference
(603) 650-7660
hours: 9:00am to 5:00pm, M-F
Dana Biomedical Library Reference
(603) 650-1660
hours: 1:00pm to 5:00pm, M-F
Send Email
Subjects:
Medicine, Health, Biology, Nursing

Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait