Encyclopedias and Basic Reference Sources
- AccessScience - the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
- Aldrich Catalog Online
- Chemistry of the Elements (2nd ed.)
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
- Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
- Merck Index
- The Laboratory Companion: A Practical Guide to Materials, Equipment, and Technique
Kresge QD53 .C69 1997 (more info)
Organic Chemistry
- Beilstein Crossfire (Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry)
- Cambridge Structural Database system (CSD) - installation disks on reserve at Kresge, or preview the web version here
- Comprehensive Organic Chemistry, Sir Derek Barton, ed. (catalog record)
Kresge Ref. QD245 .C65 1979 - Comprehensive Heterocyclic Chemistry, 3rd ed., Alan Katritzky, ed.
Comprehensive Heterocyclic Chemistry, 1st and 2nd eds., Alan Katritzky, ed.
Kresge Ref. QD400 .C65 (together, the 1st & 2nd eds. review the field through 1995) - Dictionary of Organic Compounds 6th ed. (catalog record)
Kresge Ref. QD246 .D5 1996 - Patai's Chemistry of Functional Groups series, informally called the Patai series View all library volumes
Also see: Patai's 1992 Guide to the Chemistry of Functional Groups Kresge Ref. QD251.2 .P34 1992 - Rodd's Chemistry of Carbon Compounds, 2nd ed. (catalog record)
Kresge Ref. QD251 .R62 - March's Advanced Organic Chemistry: Reactions, Mechanisms, & Structure (6th ed.)
Print copy: Kresge QD251.2 .M37 2007 - Advanced Organic Chemistry (Carey and Sundberg, eds.) 5th ed.
Print copy: Kresge QD251.2 .C36 2007 (pts. A & B)
Online: Part A, Structure and mechanisms | Part B, Reactions and synthesis
Synthetic Methods & Procedures
- Comprehensive Organic Synthesis (Barry Trost, ed.)
Kresge Ref. QD262 .C535 1991 - Comprehensive Organic Functional Group Transformations II (Alan Katritzky, ed.)
Also see COFGT I, covering the period from 1995-2005. - e-EROS: Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
- Fieser & Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis (catalog record)
Kresge Ref. QD262 .F5 (1967-present) - Organic Syntheses
(Print volumes, collective volumes and indices: Kresge Ref. QD262 .O72) - Organic Reactions Kresge QD261 .O7 1942-present
- Science of Synthesis (Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations)
- Theilheimer's Synthetic Methods of Organic Chemistry (catalog record)
Kresge Ref. QD262 .S94 (1949-present)
Inorganic & Organometallic Chemistry
- Cambridge Structural Database system (CSD) - installation disks on reserve at Kresge, or preview the web version here
- Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds (catalog record)
Kresge Ref. QD148 .D54 1992 - Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds, 2nd ed. (catalog record)
Kresge Ref.: QD411 .D53 1995 - Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry, 2nd ed., R. Bruce King, ed.
- Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II, McCleverty and Meyer, eds.
- Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry III, Crabtree and Mingos, eds.
- Gmelin Crossfire (Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry)
- Inorganic Syntheses (catalog record)
Kresge QD151 .A115 (1939-present)
Polymer Chemistry
- Encyclopedia of Polymer Science & Technology (Mark's Encyclopedia)
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
- Polymer Handbook (Brandrup's Polymer Handbook, 4th ed.)
(Print copy: Kresge Ref. QD388 .P65 1999, 3rd ed. in stacks) - Seymour/Carraher's Polymer Chemistry (7th ed.)
Kresge QD381 .S483 2008 - Wiley Database of Polymer Properties (based on Brandrup's Polymer Handbook)
Comprehensive source of physical property data for polymers.
Finding Physical & Chemical Properties
These sites match specific physical & chemical properties with the handbooks and databases where they can be found.
* Finding Thermodynamic & Physical Property Data (UT-Austin)
* Thermodex: Index to Printed Handbooks (UT-Austin)
* Physical Properties Source Index (PPSI) (ETH Zurich)
* Index to Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data (ASU)
* Chemical &
Physical Property Information Resources (Duke)
Finding Spectra
Spectra & Spectral Data - An extensive list of vetted sources
Finding Chemical Spectra & Spectral Data - Another great annotated list from UT Austin
Spectra - A guide to sources from Indiana Univ.'s ChemInfo site
Chemical Safety
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety
Kresge Ref. QD51 .C73 2000
Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference (6th ed.)
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
* University of Vermont SIRI MSDS
* Sigma-Aldrich Catalog (registration required)
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Chemicals
The Sigma-Aldrich library of chemical safety data
Kresge Ref. T55.3.H3 S54 1988 v.1-2


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait