GeoRef Tips
Consult the GeoRef Thesaurus to determine which subject descriptor best fits your topic for searches in GeoRef. Use the hierarchy view to look at relationships (broader vs. narrower terms). Use the rotated view to find search terms in any order.
Search Google Scholar
Not Available?
BORROW DIRECT Delivers books from the combined library catalogs of Brown, Columbia, Cornell, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale within 4 business days.
DartDoc is for articles or books that are in Storage, OR that are not owned by Dartmouth at all (Interlibrary Loan). See the Document Delivery webpage for more details on these services.
Use the Request Selected Item feature of the Library Catalog to request books from Storage.
Search360
Recommended Article Indexes
GeoRef
GeoRef is the major index to the geological literature
from 1785 to present. Covers all
aspects of terrestrial and extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry,
geophysics, mineralogy, petrology, economic geology, hydrology,
oceanography, geomorphology, geoarchaeology, and engineering geology.
Web of Science
Covers 5,900 journals in the basic and applied
sciences, including earth and environmental sciences. Covers
1945-present (1901-present for articles from a select list of 250 very
influential journals).
Arctic & Antarctic Regions
Arctic & Antarctic Regions (AAR) is the world's largest
collection of international polar databases. With over 1 million
records from 1800 to the present, Arctic & Antarctic Regions covers
a wide variety of sources from multiple disciplines. Many of the sources indexed are covered only in Arctic & Antarctic Regions, making it an essential resource for research into polar and cold temperature environments.
CSA Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
This subject collection (available through Cambridge Scientific
Abstracts) includes several relevant subfiles, which can be searched
individually or together (to search across all subfiles, click on the
link above). Among the subfiles:
Water Resources Abstracts
1967-present
Water Resources Abstracts indexes journal articles, papers, books and government reports on all aspects of water resources and water quality, primarily fresh water. Ground and surface water are both included.
GEOBASE
Multidisciplinary database covering physical and human geography,
geology, ecology, and related areas. International in scope, a good
choice for global topics.
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) Covers the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and related environmental sciences. Produced by the American Meteorological society; covers 1974-present.
WilsonWeb
Consists of several subfiles, which can be searched separately or together:
General Science Abstracts
Indexes articles from about 300 popular and scholarly science journals and magazines, such as Geology, Geotimes, Nature, Science, and Scientific American. Indexes science articles from The New York Times. 1984-present.
Book Review Digest
Provides descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book
reviews, with complete book review citations and all book reviews from
other Wilson indexes. Books appear with all their reviews grouped
together.
LibX Toolbar
LibX Extension for Firefox & IE
Install this even if you don’t use the toolbar, to enable the right-click menu. Customize your menu choices by using the LibX Preferences (eg, enable amazon.com, Search360, GoogleScholar or WorldCat right-click searching).
ArticleLinker Tips
is the Library's widget to get you to the full text of an article.
But it can do more!
If the "Step 1:Available online" section is empty, try "Step 2 - Library Catalog."
will create the appropriate search for you automatically, helping you locate the print journal in the Library stacks.
And if the Step 2 - Library Catalog search fails (i.e., Dartmouth doesn't have the journal in print, either), then try "Step 3 - Submit DartDoc Request."
will create the DartDoc request for you automatically.

Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait