Search Multiple Reference Sources
Encyclopedias and General Reference Sources
Earth Sciences - General
- AccessScience - the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
- Encyclopedia of Geology (c2005)
- Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences (c2002)
- Encyclopedia of Energy (c2004)
- Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences (c2001)
- Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science (c2007)
- Treatise on Geochemistry (c2007)
- Treatise on Geophysics (c2007)
- Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences series
A series of separate, single-volume encyclopedias, each of which deals with a separate branch of the earth sciences (e.g., geomorphology, sedimentology). View volume listing
Geochemistry
- Treatise on Geochemistry (c2007)
- Data of Geochemistry (US Geological Survey Professional Paper 440) (view record)
- Encyclopedia of Geochemistry (1999) C.P. Marshall & R.W. Fairbridge, eds.
Kresge Ref. QE515 .E48 1999 (view record)
Mineralogy
- Rock Forming Minerals, 2nd ed. (1997- ) Deer, Howie & Zussman (view record)
Kresge QE364 .D44 1997 v. 1-5
Also see An Introduction to the Rock-Forming Minerals, 2nd ed. (1992) Deer, Howie & Zussman
Kresge Ref. QE364 .D44 1992
- Dana's New Mineralogy, 8th ed.
Kresge Ref. QE372 .D23 1997 (view record)
Soils
Start at the NRCS Soils website, produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey under the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
- Web Soil Survey provides soil maps and data online for more than 95 percent of the
nation’s counties. The most
authoritative source of soil survey information.
- Archived Soil Surveys Published since 1899, many have been fully digitized.
- Print Soil Surveys in the Library Catalog (add the county name to the keyword search box to locate a soil survey for the county of interest)
- Soil Data Mart download data and reports for one soil survey area at a time. An alternative, non-graphical presentation of the data behind the Web Soil Survey.
- Information on New Hampshire Soils from the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS), who manage the Soil Survey program
- Information on Vermont Soils
- Listing of all state NRCS offices - each includes a link (in the upper right hand corner of the page) to that state's soil survey data
Decade of North American Geology
The Decade of North American Geology Project was established by the Geological Society of America to celebrate its 1988 Centennial year. The series was intended to provide a massive, systematic synthesis of geological knowledge of North America to serve as a benchmark of research up through the 1980's.
Centennial Special Volumes: (complete in 4 volumes - view title availability)
*v.1 Geologists and Ideas: a history of North American Geology
*v.2 Geomorphic Systems of North America
*v.3 The Heritage of Engineering Geology: the first hundred years
*v.4 Archaeological Geology of North Americ
Centennial Field Guides: QE 77 C46 (complete in 6 volumes - view title availability)
v. 1 Cordilleran Section
v. 2 Rocky Mountain Section
v. 3 North-Central Section
v. 4 South-Central Section
v. 5 North-Eastern Section
v. 6 South-Eastern Section
The Geology of North America: QE 71 G48 (view title availability)
v. A Geology of North America - an Overview
*v. C-1 / Geology of the precambrian Superior and Grenville Provinces and precambian fossils in North America (7)
v. C-2 / Precambrian: Conterminous U.S.
v. D-1 / Sedimentary Cover of the Craton in Canada (5)
v. D-2 / Sedimentary Cover - North American Craton - U.S.
*v. E / Geology of the Inuitian Orogen and Arctic Platform of Canada and
Greenland (3)
*v.F-1 / Geology of the Appalachian - Caledonian Orogen in Canada and
Greenland (6)
v. F-2 / Appalachian - Ouachita Orogen
v. G / Geology of Mexico (note: never published)
v. G-1 / Geology of Alaska
*v. G-2 / Geology of the Cordilleran Orogen in Canada (4)
v. G-3 / The Cordilleran Orogen: Conterminous U.S.
v. H / Caribbean Region
*v. I-1 / Geology of the Continental Margins of Eastern Canada (2)
v. I-2 / Atlantic Continental Margins - U.S.
v. J / The Gulf of Mexico Basin
*v. K-1 / Quaternary Geology of Canada and Greenland (1)
v. K-2 / Quaternary Nonglacial Geology: Coterminous U.S.
v. K-3 / North America and Adjacent Oceans During the Last Deglaciation
v. L / Arctic Ocean Region
v. M / Western North Atlantic Region
v. N / East Pacific Ocean and Hawaii
v. O-1 / Surface Water Hydrology
v. O-2 / Hydrogeology
*v. P-1 / Geology of Canadian Mineral Deposit Types (8)
v. P-2 / Economic Geology, U.S.
v. P-3 / Economic Geology, Mexico
*Simultaneously published as the Geology of Canada series by the Canadian government (volume in parantheses following title).
Field Trip Guidebooks
Geological field trip guidebooks are a great source of detailed information on the geology of a small area. Search the Geological Guidebooks of North America database to identify guidebooks for a particular geographic area or geologic formation.
In the Dartmouth Library, guidebooks from the New England Intercollegiate Geological Conference can be found in the Library Catalog by keyword, author or title from 1971-present; or all grouped together at QE80 .N4 from 1954-1970. (View title listing)

Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait