Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Earth Sciences 

This is a guide to resources at the Dartmouth College Library.
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dartmouth.edu/earthsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Writing Guides & Style Manuals             Print Page
  
 

Style Guides for Earth Sciences

If you are writing for publication, follow the style guidelines specified by the journal to which you are submitting your article.  If no specific guidelines are given, choose a stylebook such as the Suggestions to Authors ... of the United States Geological Survey or the Chicago Manual of Style, below.

Hansen, Wallace R., ed. Suggestions to Authors of the Reports of the United States Geological Survey.
7th ed. Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O., 1991
Kresge Ref. QE 48.85 .S84 1991
Online version

Bates, Robert Latimer. Writing in Earth Science.
Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute, c1988.
Kresge Ref. QE48.85 .B37 1988

Cochran, Wendell, Peter Fenner, and Mary Hill, eds. Geowriting : A Guide to Writing, Editing, and Printing in Earth Science.
5th ed. (Rev.) Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute, 2004
Kresge Ref. QE48.85 .G44 2004

 

Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition

Use the Chicago Manual Quick Guide to find out how to cite books, book chapters, journal articles, and more.

The Quick Guide gives examples for both the Notes & Bibliography system and the Author/Date system.  The Author/Date system is recommended for writers in the natural, physical, and social sciences.

If you are using the Notes & Bibliography method:

  • N: shows how the citation appears in a footnote or endnote.
  • B: is how it appears in your bibliography.

If you are using the Author/Date system:

  • T: shows how the citation appears as an in-text citation.
  • R: is how it appears in your reference list at the end of your paper.

If the document type you wish to cite isn't in the Quick Guide, consult Chapter 17 of the Chicago Manual.

Print copies of the Chicago Manual can be found at the Baker Berry Reference Desk as well as Baker Berry Reference Z253 .C57. Copies of the latest edition are also available under the same call number at Kresge Reference, Dana Reference, Matthews-Fuller Reference, and Rauner Reference.


 
 

Books of Interest

Managing References

  • EndNote Web  
      
    Free to Dartmouth users. Works with most bibliographic databases, including SciFinder Scholar. Works well with ISI Web of Science.
  • RefWorks  
      
    Free to Dartmouth users. Works with most bibliographic databases, including SciFinder Scholar. Works especially well with CSA databases (many earth & environmental sciences; GeoRef; MEDLINE).
 

Library Web Manager | Privacy Policy

Dartmouth College Library • Hanover, NH, USA 03755 • Phone: (603) 646-2560 • Email

Top of page | Copyright © 2008 Trustees of Dartmouth College

Description

  Loading content... please wait