Introduction
Spatial analysis is a type of geographical analysis which seeks to explain patterns of human behavior and its spatial expression in terms of mathematics and geometry, that is, locational analysis. Examples include nearest neighbor analysis and Thiessen polygons. Many of the models are grounded in micro-economics and predict the spatial patterns which should occur, in, for example, the growth of networks and urban systems, given a number of preconditions such as the isotropic plain, movement minimization, and profit maximization. It is based on the tenet that economic man is responsible for the development of the landscape, and is therefore subject to the usual criticisms of that concept, such as the lack of free will.
New methodologies of spatial analysis include geocomputation and spatial statistical theory.
From A Dictionary of Geography. Susan Mayhew. Oxford University Press, 2004. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press. Dartmouth College. 6 October 2005
In the Library's collection
Spatial analysis as a subject term is not used in the online catalog. Instead, spatial analysis (statistics) is used. The term statistics is used to qualify or narrow the scope of the term. From the online catalog, you will find a over 70 resources that have to do with spatial analysis (statistics). Some of these volumes are more technical in nature and concentrate more on the mathematics involved in spatial analysis.
Most of these books are located in G 70.2 through G 70.4 in the Baker Stack Annex A.
The following are just some of the books in the Library's collection.
Article Indexes
- GeoBase
- Academic Search Premier
A large, multi-disciplinary article index. - Lexis-Nexis Academic
Resources are mixed in this database. There are academic journals included, but you will find more newspaper, newsletter and magazine articles here. You will also find more current applications of remote sensing in this database. - Sustainability Science Abstracts

- Arctic & Antarctic Regions

Contains the world's largest collection of international polar databases. - JSTOR
JSTOR provides image and full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals. Consult the online catalog, as coverage varies for each title.
Online Resources
- Geographic Information Science & Technology (GIST) Group
The mission of GIST is to support national environmental, energy, and defense programs through research, development, and application of geographic information and analysis systems. From the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. - Spatial Analysis and Modelling Specialty Group of the AAG

"Our mission is to foster and maintain interaction, cooperation and community among individuals interested in the analysis of geo-referenced data, modeling of spatio-temporal processes, ... - SPAR-GIS (Special Populations Analysis and Research with GIS

The primary focus will be within the emergency management topic area utilizing GIS as a planning and/or response tool for the well being of members of Special Populations.
Introductory reading(s)
These books include several articles on Spatial Analysis.
Encyclopedia of geographic information science - Karen K. Kemp, ed.
Call Number: Baker/Berry Ref. G 70.212 .E53 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 1412913136
Encyclopedia of GIS - Shashi Shekhar & Hui Xiong, eds.
Call Number: Baker/Berry Ref. G 70.212 .E534 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0387359753
Ecyclopedia of human geography - Barney Warf, ed.
Call Number: Baker/Berry Ref. GF 4
ISBN/ISSN: 0761988580
Selected Book Titles
Spatial analysis and geocomputation: selected essays - Manfred M. Fischer
Call Number: Kresge G 70.3 .F572 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 3540357297- Geospatial analysis : a comprehensive guide to principles, techniques and software tools - Michael J. de Smith, Michael F. Goodchild and Paul A. Longley
Call Number: Baker/Berry G 70.23 .D4 2007
A companion to political geography - John Agnew, Katharyne Mitchell and Gerard Toal, eds.
Call Number: Baker/Berry JC 319 .C645 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 0631220313
This book contains a chapter on spatial analysis in political geography.- Putting people on the map : protecting confidentiality with linked social-spatial data - National Research Council (U.S.) Panel on Confidentiality Issues Arising from the Integration of Remotely Sensed and Self-Identifying Data, Committee on the Human Dimensions of Global Change, Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Call Number: Baker/Berry H 62 .P953 2007
Advanced spatial analysis : the CASA book of GIS - Paul A. Longley and Michael Batty, eds.
Call Number: Baker/Berry G 70.212 .A394 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 1589480732
The CASA book of GIS describes cutting-edge developments in GIS applications at University College Londons Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis (CASA). Drawn from archaeology, architecture, cartography, computer science, environmental science, geography, planning, remote sensing, geomatic engineering and transport studies, these applications are emerging as the basis for spatial decision support systems across a wide range of industries and jurisdictions.
Emerging spatial information systems and applications - Brian N. Hilton, ed.
Call Number: Baker/Berry G 70.212 .E44 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 1599040751
"This book presents innovative spatial information systems developed for a specific problem or decision-making situation. It also discusses key concepts and theories underlying current spatial information systems and technology trends and emerging concepts that may impact spatial information system development and applications in the future"


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait