Article Indexes
- GeoBase
- Sustainability Science Abstracts
- Arctic & Antarctic Regions

Contains the world's largest collection of international polar databases. - Academic Search Premier
A large, multi-disciplinary article index. - Social Sciences Abstracts
- JSTOR
"JSTOR provides image and full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals. Consult the online catalog, as coverage varies for each title."
More technical articles
- INSPEC
- IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users. - ACM Portal
This is a searchable, browsable, bibliographic database from the key publishers in computing, including books, journals, proceedings and theses.
A definition for Remote Sensing
(1) In the broadest sense, the measurement or acquisition of information about some property of an object or phenomenon, by a recording device that is not in physical or intimate contact with the object or phenomenon under study.
(2) Instruments that record characteristics of objects at a distance, sometimes forming an image by gathering, focusing, and recording reflected light from the Sun, or reflected radio waves emitted by the spacecraft.
From the Glossary of the Landsat Missions (08/30/2008)
Introductory Reading(s)
- Aerial Photographs and Satellite Images
An online edition of the popular booklet that discusses some characteristics of aerial photographs and satellite images and the types of images that are available from the USGS.
Selected Book Titles
Remote sensing and image interpretation - Thomas M. Lillesand, Ralph W. Kiefer and Jonathan W. Chipman
Call Number: Baker/Berry G 70.4 .L54 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0470052457
Integration of GIS and remote sensing - Victor Mesev, ed.
Call Number: Baker/Berry G 70.212 .I573 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0470864095
Looking for images
Other Resources
- Science Tracer Bullets Online - Remote Sensing
A research guide from the Science Reference Service of the Science, Technology and Business Division of the Library of Congress. - Land Remote Sensing Program (USGS)
The fundamental goal of the LRS Program is to provide the Federal Government and the public with a primary source of remotely sensed data and applications and to be a leader in defining the future of land remote sensing, nationally and internationally. - Earthshots: Satellite Images of Environmental Change
An online edition of the popular booklet that discusses some characteristics of aerial photographs and satellite images and the types of images that are available from the USGS. - Remote Sensing Specialty Group of the AAG
A group dedicated to remote sensing in Geography. They are a part of the Association of American Geographers. - Geographic Information Science & Technology (GIST) Group
The mission of GIST is to support national environmental, energy, and defense programs through research, development, and application of geographic information and analysis systems. From the Oak Ridge National Laboratory.


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait