Data?
Looking for data to use in ArcGIS? Click here.
Introduction
A Dictionary of Geography defines Geographic Information Systems (GIS) as an integrated, spatial, data-handling programme which can collect, store and retrieve spatial data from the real world. The definition goes on to say that while GIS is a powerful tool in decision-making, it has limitations.
GIS software can also automate many cartographic processes, making it easier to create maps. This software is not always easy to use, but it has many strengths that help you visualize data.
There are several departments on campus which use GIS. They include but are not limited to Geography, Earth Sciences, Environmental Studies, Biological Sciences and Economics. If you want more information about how each department uses GIS in research and instruction, please contact them directly.
Basic Information on GIS
- AccessScience@McGraw-Hill

This database provides full access to articles, dictionary terms, and research updates in all areas of science and technology. - GIS.com
This web site is courtesy of ESRI, the creator of the software ArcGIS and ArcExplorer. They want you to use their software, so they do provide you reasons and instruction for using it. - Geographic Information Systems
A "poster" from the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) explaining what GIS is and how it works. - A Short Definition from the AGI
A definition from the British Association for Geographic Information (AGI). - National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis (NCGIA)
The NCGIA is an independent research consortium whose primary mandate is to conduct basic research in geographic information science and related technologies such as geographic information systems (GIS). - Geographic Information Systems (GIS) at CDC
Dictionaries
A to Z GIS: An Illustrated Dictionary of Geographic Information Systems - Tasha Wade and Shelly Sommer
Call Number: Baker/Berry G70.212 .A86 2006 c.2
ISBN/ISSN: 1589481402- GIS Dictionary from ESRI
Call Number: Online resource
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of GIS - Shashi Shekhar & Hui Xiong, eds.
Call Number: Baker/Berry Ref. G 70.212 .E534 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0387359753
Encyclopedia of geographic information science - Karen K. Kemp, ed.
Call Number: Baker/Berry Ref. G 70.212 .E53 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 1412913136- Encyclopedia of Human Geography - Barney Warf
Call Number: Baker Berry Ref. GF4 .E54 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0761988580
The article in this encyclopedia not only defines Geographic Information Systems (GIS), but also discusses the role of GIS in research. It also talks about Geographic Information Science. - Environmental Encyclopedia - Marci Bortman, et. al.
Call Number: Baker Berry Ref. GE 10 .E38 2003 v.1-2
ISBN/ISSN: 0787654868
This encyclopedia looks at GIS from the Environmental Science slant.
GIS Librarian |
Lucinda M. HallEvans Map Room
2nd Level, Berry Library
6025 Baker/Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
(603) 646-3628 (fax)
Send Email
Subjects:
Geography, Maps, Cartography, GIS, Film & Television Studies, Mass Media, Journalism & New Media
Online resources
- GISUser.com
- GISCafe.com
- GIS Internet Resources
- GeoCommunity
- GEO Informatics
- GITA
Geospatial Information & Technology Association.


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait