Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Maps & Atlases: A Research Guide  Tags: citing_maps  

This subject guide looks at finding different maps and atlases throughout our collections. This is not an exhaustive list, but the guide does list various examples of resources within each section.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dartmouth.edu/maps  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find maps online             Print Page
  

Maps of current events

  • Maps in the News  
      
    This site has a list of maps for current happenings in the world. Maps include the downed jet in the Hudson River, ethnic conflict in Kenya and the Myanmar cyclone.

The World

  • The world atlas  
      
    This database contains outline, elevation, and reproducible maps of the world, individual regions, countries, U.S. states and Canadian provinces. It also provides statistical, historical, and political information.
  • Cartographic Section of the United Nations  
      
    Maps from the Department of Peacekeeping Operations.
  • World maps  
      
    There are over 475 location, physical and political maps.
  • The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection  
      
    A collection of scanned maps in various file formats from the University of Texas at Austin. The Central Intelligence Agency produced many of these maps. The collection is divided into Online Maps of Current Interest and Online Maps of General Interest.
  • Watersheds of the World  
      
    The maps and profiles in this collection portray issues affecting water resources, including land cover and use, population density, and freshwater biodiversity.
  • ReliefWeb's Map Centre  
      
    ReliefWeb is the world’s leading on-line gateway to information (documents and maps) on humanitarian emergencies and disasters.
  • Geology.com  
      
    This is one of the largest collections of static maps on the internet. These include a growing collection of over 160 country maps paired with Landsat images. [from the publisher]
  • World Mapper  
      
    Worldmapper is a collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest.
  • One Planet, Many People  
      
  • David Rumsey Collection  
      
    This site focuses on 18th/19th-century North & South American cartographic materials, including: atlases, globes, school geographies, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps.
  • UNEP: Atlas of Our Changing Environment  
      
    This interactive atlas from the United Nations Environment Programme provides useful information to all interested in both natural and human-made changes in our planet over the last 30-40 years.
  • Maps and graphics  
      
    This service is an on-going project to collect and catalog all graphic products that have been prepared for publications and web-sites for the UN from the last 15 years on a wide range of themes related to the environment and sustainable development
  • World Language Phyla  
      
    Stephen Huffman classified languages in Ethnologue into broader groups following A Guide to the World's Languages 1991. Some of those maps are available for downloading.
  • Gapminder  
      
    Gapminder is a non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals by increased use and understanding of statistics and other information about social, economic and environmental development at local, national and global levels.

Western Hemisphere

  • Geology.com (U. S. States)  
      
    This is a collection of 350 U.S. state maps which include a raised relief map, elevation map, rivers map, political map and roads/cities map. These link to our state and city satellite images, waterfalls map, state high points map and more.
  • The National Atlas  
      
    An online atlas and geographic information system, including geospatial and statistical data sets and digitized maps and map layers. The updated National Atlas is designed to provide a reliable summary of national-scale geographical information.
  • GeoGratis  
      
    GeoGratis is a web and file transfer protocol (ftp) site that distributes geospatial data of Canada. Data is available for download, without charge. Similarly, several types of full resolution satellite imagery are on-line.
  • David Rumsey Collection  
      
    This site focuses on 18th/19th-century North & South American cartographic materials, including: atlases, globes, school geographies, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps.
  • Geology.com  
      
    This is one of the largest collections of static maps on the internet. These include a growing collection of over 160 country maps paired with Landsat images. [from the publisher]
  • The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection  
      
    A collection of scanned maps in various file formats from the University of Texas at Austin. The Central Intelligence Agency produced many of these maps. The collection is divided into Online Maps of Current Interest and Online Maps of General Interest.
  • The world atlas  
      
    This database contains outline, elevation, and reproducible maps of the world, individual regions, countries, U.S. states and Canadian provinces. It also provides statistical, historical, and political information.
  • World maps  
      
    There are over 475 location, physical and political maps.
  • Maps and graphics  
      
    This service is an on-going project to collect and catalog all graphic products that have been prepared for publications and web-sites for the UN from the last 15 years on a wide range of themes related to the environment and sustainable development
  • UNEP: Atlas of Our Changing Environment  
      
    This interactive atlas from the United Nations Environment Programme provides useful information to all interested in both natural and human-made changes in our planet over the last 30-40 years.
  • One Planet, Many People  
      

Europe

  • The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection  
      
    A collection of scanned maps in various file formats from the University of Texas at Austin. The Central Intelligence Agency produced many of these maps. The collection is divided into Online Maps of Current Interest and Online Maps of General Interest.
  • The world atlas  
      
    This database contains outline, elevation, and reproducible maps of the world, individual regions, countries, U.S. states and Canadian provinces. It also provides statistical, historical, and political information.
  • World maps  
      
    There are over 475 location, physical and political maps.
  • Geology.com  
      
    This is one of the largest collections of static maps on the internet. These include a growing collection of over 160 country maps paired with Landsat images. [from the publisher]
  • UNEP: Atlas of Our Changing Environment  
      
    This interactive atlas from the United Nations Environment Programme provides useful information to all interested in both natural and human-made changes in our planet over the last 30-40 years.
  • One Planet, Many People  
      
  • Maps and graphics  
      
    This service is an on-going project to collect and catalog all graphic products that have been prepared for publications and web-sites for the UN from the last 15 years on a wide range of themes related to the environment and sustainable development

Africa

  • Africa's Lakes  
      
  • Africa : Atlas of Our Changing Environment  
      
  • The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection  
      
    A collection of scanned maps in various file formats from the University of Texas at Austin. The Central Intelligence Agency produced many of these maps. The collection is divided into Online Maps of Current Interest and Online Maps of General Interest.
  • The world atlas  
      
    This database contains outline, elevation, and reproducible maps of the world, individual regions, countries, U.S. states and Canadian provinces. It also provides statistical, historical, and political information.
  • World maps  
      
    There are over 475 location, physical and political maps.
  • Geology.com  
      
    This is one of the largest collections of static maps on the internet. These include a growing collection of over 160 country maps paired with Landsat images. [from the publisher]
  • Maps and graphics  
      
    This service is an on-going project to collect and catalog all graphic products that have been prepared for publications and web-sites for the UN from the last 15 years on a wide range of themes related to the environment and sustainable development
  • UNEP: Atlas of Our Changing Environment  
      
    This interactive atlas from the United Nations Environment Programme provides useful information to all interested in both natural and human-made changes in our planet over the last 30-40 years.
  • One Planet, Many People  
      
 

Make your own map!

  • Mapping for Everyone  
      
    A site from ESRI, makers of ArcGIS, which allows you to map a limited range of variables and inbed those maps into web pages.

Census maps of the U.S.

Topographic maps for the U.S.

  • USGS Map Store  
      
    You can download free USGS topographic sheets in GeoPDF format. Adobe Reader can read this format.

Maps of New Hampshire

  • GRANIT  
      
    A series of 8.5x11 maps of New Hampshire. Maps include a base map, population density, land cover and shaded relief.

Maps of Vermont

  • Map Center  
      
    The Map Center is a part of the Vermont Center for Geographic Information. Besides downloadable maps, there is an interactive site and a Digital Atlas of Vermont.

Maps of Maine

  • MEGIS Maps  
      
    Downloadable maps from the Maine Office of GIS.

Asia

  • Maps of China  
      
  • Maps from China Odyssey Tours  
      
  • PAIR : Portal of Asian Internet Resources  
      
    A resource for good internet information about Asia. There are links to maps for various countries
  • The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection  
      
    A collection of scanned maps in various file formats from the University of Texas at Austin. The Central Intelligence Agency produced many of these maps. The collection is divided into Online Maps of Current Interest and Online Maps of General Interest.
  • Geology.com  
      
    This is one of the largest collections of static maps on the internet. These include a growing collection of over 160 country maps paired with Landsat images. [from the publisher]
  • The world atlas  
      
    This database contains outline, elevation, and reproducible maps of the world, individual regions, countries, U.S. states and Canadian provinces. It also provides statistical, historical, and political information.
  • World maps  
      
    There are over 475 location, physical and political maps.
  • One Planet, Many People  
      
  • UNEP: Atlas of Our Changing Environment  
      
    This interactive atlas from the United Nations Environment Programme provides useful information to all interested in both natural and human-made changes in our planet over the last 30-40 years.
  • Maps and graphics  
      
    This service is an on-going project to collect and catalog all graphic products that have been prepared for publications and web-sites for the UN from the last 15 years on a wide range of themes related to the environment and sustainable development

Oceania

  • The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection  
      
    A collection of scanned maps in various file formats from the University of Texas at Austin. The Central Intelligence Agency produced many of these maps. The collection is divided into Online Maps of Current Interest and Online Maps of General Interest.
  • Geology.com  
      
    This is one of the largest collections of static maps on the internet. These include a growing collection of over 160 country maps paired with Landsat images. [from the publisher]
  • The world atlas  
      
    This database contains outline, elevation, and reproducible maps of the world, individual regions, countries, U.S. states and Canadian provinces. It also provides statistical, historical, and political information.
  • World maps  
      
    There are over 475 location, physical and political maps.
  • One Planet, Many People  
      
  • UNEP: Atlas of Our Changing Environment  
      
    This interactive atlas from the United Nations Environment Programme provides useful information to all interested in both natural and human-made changes in our planet over the last 30-40 years.
  • Maps and graphics  
      
    This service is an on-going project to collect and catalog all graphic products that have been prepared for publications and web-sites for the UN from the last 15 years on a wide range of themes related to the environment and sustainable development

Other places ...

 

Further reading ...

    This journal article from Reference Services Review discusses electronic maps. The article lists web sites for online maps but also talks about how to save and use the maps you find. You should find most if not all of the sites listed in the article in our online catalog or annotated below.

For more assistance, please contact the Evans Map Room directly.

 

Library Web Manager | Privacy Policy

Dartmouth College Library • Hanover, NH, USA 03755 • Phone: (603) 646-2560 • Email

Top of page | Copyright © 2008 Trustees of Dartmouth College

Description

  Loading content... please wait